Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

August 26, 2001 - 20:00 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Harbinger

Seen in today's paper an article by a Joanne Ostrow a Denver Post writer who tells what might be coming to us along the way somewhere.

Seems like TV execs are figuring out an advertising scheme allowing sponsors to put their foot in my door in another way. They are kicking around the idea of putting a company's logo in the lower right corner of the screen like the network logo seen now. A sort of see through thing, but intrusive nevertheless. Darn, I don't want to constantly see in that right hand corner that this program is brought to me under the sponsorship of Maw Smithfield's Tydee Didee. I wonder when the commercializers will cause Scott's or Charmin to come out with Logoed toilet paper. Alternating Conoco with Coor's logos ? Paper hand towels with Firestone logos alternated with Ford logos ? Insurance policies with a Funeral organization's logo in the background ?

I can visualize paper money with comercial logos in the lower right corner of each bill. Logos on the one dollar bill being fairly cheap and for the twenties more expensive -- or would it be the other way around ? Seeing there are more ones in circulation, maybe they should have a higher logo price.

When I was younger the young car buffs were taking cars and spiffing them up, leading in spots and removing logos, not changing them much, but making them prettier and finer looking.

Only way we can keep the picture on the tube without logos is to vote with our remotes, by just not tuning in the networks that do such a thing. Then the wrestling fans can have their own network to themselves, with fists, feet and folding chairs flying everywhich way --- all with big, colorful, fancy logos on them.

But just a minute, let's think about this. . . . maybe we could swallow this thing proposed, if, we were guaranteed freedom from those commercial interruptions that steal time from content. A little jigger to be ignored in the right hand corner of your screen and giving us full time content. One thing, a guarantee that the logo size would be small, small in my dictionary, and also that it would stay see through would be needed.

Logoed TP I could handle if the print was not irritating, especially if it would be cheaper. In fact, I could be expressing a strong opinion in my bathroom at the same time.

I have a friend who is an electronic engineering nerd. Maybe I can egg him into making a cheap device which will automatically put feedback into the line on the computer dialed sales talks on the telephone. Then maybe their machines will go pfssst, up in smoke.

We already have a, "No CALL," priviledge to use on our home phones, should be in effect soon in our state. Only thing though, there are a few political and charitable (?), sectual organizations who will still be allowed to pester the snot out of a guy. Paging a loophole closer.

Reading the paper sometimes reveals a Harbinger . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008