Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

August 27, 2001 - 23:56 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

What Surplus ?

A short, more or less duty entry for a place holder tonight.

I just deleted a two hour effort at an entry with my deviant fingers pressing the wrong key. Not having the ability to put myself back on the path down memory lane, I shall gripe and laugh a bit about the Washington, D.C. Circus.

In an article by Lou Kesten of the Associated Press this 27th day of August, Headlined, "Sides squabble over shrinking budget surplus," Uh huh ! No horse apples, cowboy . . . .

He says in part, "The president's chief economic adviser said Sunday that he thought an economic rebound is near, helped by the administration's tax cut."

Reported in the article is some additional blather.

Then Lou Kesten reports that Sen John Edwards, D-N.C., accused the Bush administration of, "Washington gimmicks and double speak."

And reportedly he had much more to say.

At the end of the article, "Terry McAuliff, chairman of the Democratic National Committee, said on CBS' Face The Nation - "That Democrats spent eight years to creat the surplus only to see that President Bush had ""blown it in eight months."" There is no money left for education or for defense."

I hear different reports as to where and how the Social Security Taxes are handled in Washington by the high Pooh Bahs. The money goes in here and is put in the Trustless fund and then transferred to box X or whatever. One source says that there is no such thing as a Social Security Trust, that Social Security money is spent on the present retiring people. If that is true, how come the taxes have been raised over the years to take care of the people of the future who will soon reach 65 ? The think tank stank, I think.

The thing that strikes me between the eyes is that I feel that both sides are liars and are using every means of propaganda to keep us from knowing what the hell they are truly talking about, or what they are really doing and are as usual pushing euphemisms to the fore. You know a politician could say, "Now that heavy mahogany, oddly shaped piece of furniture with a keyboard and a massive internal framework holding metal strings is NOT a piano ! It is a high tech vegetable slicer !" They keep mealy mouthing ambiguities, hiding what they are acutally doing -- and in the end saying, "See, THAT is a piano !" They don't fool me -- there is no keyboard or strings on it and the only tune it plays is, Taxpayers Owe.

I keep on singing the old tune, What Surplus ? . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008