Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-03-09 - 02:32:08

Here it is later than late, but as I am still up and awake..............Took Heather out to the clinic to see her doctor again, after his examination she went down to lab for the samples to be taken. No new medication was prescribed, but he suspects IBS and has given her dietary instructions. She does feel better after taking two different courses of anti-biotics - - - - that is one of the tests to see if she still has that staph infection. Any more when either of us ails it seems to be the, "Grand Elimination of Various Causes of the Problem." I went through that, on our return from the med cruise I arrived Denver one sick puppy, crawled into bed at home. The next morning Heather helped me get up and took me to the urgent care center, people put me to bed, I was in hospital for about a week and a half. Seemed like millions of tests, restricted diet, and a course of medications, When was all said and done, my doctor told that shortly after admission I showed up with pneumonia but felt that was from the weakening of the mystery malady. So, the end result was, " We don't know what you had, but you are well now." Guess they eliminated the eliminations. Had been to Egypt and other ports and possibly picked up something in the med. I could accept what my doctor told me, I knew him and had followed intently the care I was given and was sure they had done everything they could. My guess is that they attacked enough of what ailed me at the beginning that my body was able to go into the healing process. Heather has had somewhat the same luck through our later years. She has a few abnormal conditions (from birth) which seem to drag her down when she gets sick. Hopefully she is on the mend. She was more cheerful during the day, good sign. .......................................................... We had company this evening friends we hadn't seen for a long time were on their way to Montana, they had a long layover here in Denver so we went out and picked them up,k visited and when the time came took them back to D.I.A. (Denver's Illconceived Airport) My buddy said that the airport structures looked like a collection of teepees out on the plains. His was a pretty apt perception I think.

Time will tell if the giant canopies will wear well, or whether the weathering and the wind will cause havoc. At this time they still appear to be holding up well. From the first studying of a site for the new airport and the runway and concourse through the final opening and continuing operations there was great footdragging, haggling, complaining, backbiting of the damn thing, Enough hot air and heavy wind came out of the uproar to make every barn door in the state become airborne. But is there and the layout is great. Now and the they have a little trouble with the trains in the tunnels to and from the different concourses but more and more they seem to be handling the problems rapidly. Of course there are a lot of angry people at these times, but the cooperation between the air port management and the airlines, things go fairly well - - - I believe the main sticking point with the travelers is the frightening delay in the tunnels and the prospect of missing connections. The emergency procedures seem to be working well. There probably be a lot of hard nosed curmudgeons like me who will never like it because when Stapleton was still open and running, many of us lived from five minutes to twenty minutes from home to check-in. And, of course we knew the layout at Stapleton as well as we knew our way around our neighborhood. We old geezers tend to be set in our ways and dislike any change in our routines, basically, "It jus' ain't right - - - 'cause its different." the one good thing is that the aircraft come in from such a high altitude that the city has very little noise pollution. When Stapleton was going there were some schools where every thing came to a halt till the aircraft landed or climbed high and far enough for the noise level to subside. Like Gracie Allen said, "You gotta take the bitter with the better." Life goes on and on and on, after awhile it gets so daily. Say night, night Bastion, go to your room.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008