Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

August 30, 2001 - 23:49 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Mixed Blather

Bastion's Book Of Ignorance didn't help me much yesterday. So now to set the record straight on what little I have been able to find out.

Mercurochrome didn't sting -- according to what I read today it didn't seem to be a hell of a lot of help either. It contained 25% mercury, 20% bromine (a form of aniline dye I think). Merthiolate supplanted it pretty well and it stung probably from its alcohol content. Its mercurial content is 49% as the active ingredient. The dangerous ingredient of course is a form of mercury called thimerosal.

There seems to be a feeling that people have suffered poisoning from that.

There have also been some studies of possible deletorius effects of vaccines containing thimerosal -- one of which is or was a preventative vaccination given to children to guard against some childhood diseases like mumps and German measles. It seems to be associated with a form of autism it is thought and tests have been run or are now. Not sure on the status of them.

I very seldom buy over the counter anything except the 81mg aspirin tabs to keep my blood thin enough which was recommended by my cardioligist, and a Kirkland (Costco) multivitamin equivalent to Centrum Silver. I have a book or two which I consult now and then to find out the ingredients of over the counter stuff, primarily to tell family what actually is in the preparation they are considering. Sometimes the ingredients are the same as something they are already are taking, sometimes they want to start using an over the counter preparation that conflicts with prescription medication already being taken. Sometimes it increases the effect of the Rx drug and sometimes decreases the effect. Sometimes too, the side effects of the two are quite serious. So I also have a book or two which discusses side effects. I don't play Dr. Bastion to others, but I stay aware of what Rx medication Heather and I are taking, its ingredients, possible side effects and if it conflicts with other Rx drugs we are taking or possible over the counter preparations we might possibly buy.

I remember the Alka-Seltzer tablets of years ago, the serious voiced announcer telling us that Alka Seltzer contained acetyl-salicylic-acid, yep it sure did and probably still does. It is the compound called aspirin.

Trade names are so very deceptive, but when reading the ingredients one can see they are essentially the same stuff with a different name. I have read that the use of Primatene Mist for asthmatic symptoms can be dangerous too. Its active ingredient is epinephrine which can cause problems in people sensitive to it, sometimes can affect the heart I have read.

One good rule I follow, if the doctor tells me to get it and use it, I will. If I see or hear of an over the counter preparation I might think would help me, I will call and ask if it is permissible for me to take it. I have almost stopped calling about over the counter preps -- most of the time they are weak versions of Rx medication and composed of ingredients that would interact unfavorably with the the Rx meds I am on or would be harmful to me because of one or another of my other conditions. For instance, for years I took aspirin for any pain, when my back got to the stage that I had constant pain my doctor prescribed more effective pain medication (another NSAID) and would query me to see if my stomach was giving me trouble and it wasn't, as the pain got worse the dosage was of stronger NSAID's until I was finally on the max dosage of the strongest he could prescribe. The, or should I say, my ? bottom suddenly dropped out. Spent a bit of time in hospital and was released with the instructions to avoid all NSAID's and recommended Tylenol with cautions against doing a constant intake and affecting my liver.

Thinking back about the people I worked with I remember some of the combinations of cold / sinus over the counter meds they were taking, which separately or in combination could make their problem worse.

It points up in my mind that the patient bears a lot of the responsibility for his or her health. I also think that adequate precise information should be given to the attending physician and the appropriate questions be asked the doctor. I do not think a patient should leave without making sure that what was heard by that patient was fully understood, realizing what the doctor is saying must be understood.

Not a word about the Whitehouse Nose Bush tonight, except the preceeding. Other wise it has been a bit of Mixed Blather . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008