Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

September 06, 2001 - 17:43 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Visitors

I guess in the diary / journal world we are all just visitors, transient, some here for a very short time - some have been here all along and others somewhere in between.

I hate to lose someone who has been a good friend and a good read for me, long term.

Each of us has reasons that might cause us to drop out of sight, which must be accepted as being valid for that person. Some have been harassed, some one might have a debilitating illness, some get too busy to keep a journal going, and some feel they need a break and new pastures. Those who break sometimes will come up with a new site, different name, different url - the change of pace seems to be beneficial for them.

When the spark that keeps a person's wish to communicate dies I guess the flame goes out and so does the site go to blackness.

It could even happen to me. I don't want it to, but if it ever gets to the point that I won't even read my own output the surety that no one else will be interested either comes to the fore. The choice then will be mine, subject to my decision. But if able, I will tell my friends goodbye.

I did expect when summer came around there would be fewer entries by many of the diarists and journalists, and so it was. But, they are returning from vacation, rest or illness.

Most folks will put a word or two of explanation as to why they are discontinuing their site and some even keep their notify list to use when they start up again. Then, some just quit.

Its the ones that just vanish - poof pfft - no site left, no e-mails to readers nor any word in their notify lists. Just zilch.

Most of the time I think that if death overtakes one of us, word is passed around letting us know and mourn awhile and remember the goodness of their writing. I also think the same of illness too. The rest of the people who drop from the scene give me a cause to wonder. "Hello, web/net I want to report a missing person/site. I last knew of it two weeks ago and now it has vanished," is there an arm of Netizenry doing that ? I don't think so . . . . nor do I think there should be.

My diary is my diary which carries my thoughts, at least the printable ones. It is a picture of my personality shabby as it is. And if the time comes for me, for whatever reason, my intent is to let someone know, to just say, "So long, good bye, its been good to be here. Maybe sometime in the future we might meet in another venue, but for now, God Bless."

I would however, like to think that as long as I can man the keyboard my mental processes will stay enough alive to enable me to talk to myself and the world.

But on this earth we can only be Visitors . . . . . . .

-------------------------------Member of The Autumn Leaves Burb.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008