Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

September 08, 2001 - 19:47 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Southward Front

We heard that Boreas was icing things, and sure enough his Messenger, Sir Cold Front arrived.

Cooled down, it did and for a bonus, some rain.

Out and about this afternoon, it was light jacket cool with a slight breeze and occasional raindrops. Clouds which had been puffs of fleecy white appeared to have cleaned the sink and are puffy yet but dirty grey, visibly moving from north to south to show that the season is in change, soon to be in charge. Clouds were still puffy and somewhat high, so Summer is still trying to stay with us, yet awhile.

So, in the few weeks left, into my memory files I go to retrieve pleasant fall memories of the past -- before I go huddle and hibernate in my dreary winter cave. (aka apartment). The heat is on in our complex and if summer tries for a comeback our big glass door will be open and the fan running full blast until it really gets cold.

I seem to look in the past, recent or long term, to gird myself to battle what I face. Thinking of better times and sweeter climes and remembering those no longer in our ken. Now and then dipping into the past and thinking of some of our bad times. Wondering, "How did we weather that tempest of bad luck ?" Which gives us the strength to face the present and near future.

Things like the smell of woodsmoke, of leaves burning. The feel in the nostrils of bracingly cold air and its freshness. Thinking back again to enjoyed childhood memories. And anticipating the loving, family gatherings to come through this part of the year.

I guess like most of us who have seasons I do enjoy the changing, and look forward to my favorite seasons yet to come.

But, for now, cool is the Southward Front . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008