Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

September 11, 2001 - 19:54 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Clinical

Today shouldn't have been, should have been skipped over or completely cancelled. But it is here with us yet.

The places and the faces where I went today were pretty much the same. Traffic was less, drivers actually acting like civilized people. Peoples actions like automatons, sad and numb expressions, for the most part not talking to each other, just suffering the grief of this round and preparing for the next blow I guess.

My mind refused to let me look at TV after the media began to repeat the same things over and over. Shock value, possibly planned by the terrorists, that second plane on TV seemed to have been preplanned just so that it would be on TV. But the constant rerunning of that clip only emphasized the crudity of the present mind set of the media.

Pretty much the rest of the day history rolled through my head, the violence and terror that has been forced upon innocent people by members of the human race. Torture, killings, slavery, genocide, some as recent as Jugoslavia, Somalia and other parts of Africa, those things that seemed to be inconsequential because they didn't happen here in our country to our people. Those things in the past were reviewed on the screen of my mind, letting me slip deeper in despondency

It is a bad thing, to cry and yet no tears will come. To scream and shriek on the inside with no outlet, no one to scream at or blame. I guess we all have our suspicions, but nothing backed by fact yet.

I have read netizens comments through the day and many of them wonder, "Is this the beginning of the end ?" I read another journalist come forth with, "I do hope that action is not taken against the blameless," we do seem to be a lot like the old west posse leader telling his men, "Okay, okay then, lets hang this dude and then give him a fair trial.

I keep wondering, has any terrorism truly accomplished anything of value, profit or even satisfaction to anyone ? Is that progress ? Is that our future ? Will there be long lines of our citizens stumbling shoeless and hungry hoping to arrive safely to a haven ? Will the world bankrupt itself by wasting men, material, money and medicine that really should not be a necessary expenditure ?

How often could some of these horrendous actions have been avoided by some one or some group being willing to live in peace with their neighbors ? What does hate of any kind produce that is good ?

When we wake up tomorrow this nasty thing will still be with us plus new items of news and realizations of the harm done.

I think maybe the world's madness could be classified as, clinical. . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008