Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

03 October, 2001 - 22:38 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

At A Time

This was not a typical day, thank the Lord. Hit the floor at 5 AM for no good reason at all, so did a little catching up on e-mail, etc. Made the coffee and brought the paper in. Then continued with e-mail until coffee screeched to a stop, went to the kitchen to get my morning jump start. Sat down to read the newspaper for awhile.

Heather arose, we greeted and had breakfast. I did a few little things around the apartment.

Then it was time to go over to Heather's brother's house to see him. We were there fairly early, Heather helped him with some of his bills and mail while I scratched the ears and rubbed the belly of a beautiful Blonde Labrador lady named Pixie. She is the dog of brother-in-law's grand son who is now living there. When we first became acquainted it was to the tune of a watchdog's music. The second time over there she barked until I sat down and held out the back of my hand which she sniffed and snorted at but lay down over by a bush for awhile. Gradually she has showed her loving disposition and for a six year old dog a streak of playfulness too. How thrilled I am over her when now she comes right to me and sits and waits to have her ears caressed and is not bashful about putting the ear under my hand that she deems needs attention.

We then took her brother over to get a prescription filled, to the post office to get his mail, it gets a little confusing here.

Heather bought a sack of peanuts while he was in at the pharmacy. We then went down to a creek where he and his wife used to go walking and feeding the squirrels. We spent a little time there and would have spent more but brother-in-law began to have a bit of diabetic trouble at which time we took him home for a shot of his quick fix orange juice.

Then to Walmart where he and Heather went shopping and I sat over on a bench writing in my notebook. They appeared with a full buggy and we ate at the snack bar.

We loaded his stuff in our car and took him home, unloaded and put away what he had bought and visited for a short while.

Off to home then to shower, shampoo and shave my neck getting ready for an appointment at the clinic. We arrived there just about on the dot of appointment time and then waited about forty minutes till I was called in. Supposedly they were going to do a biopsy. Jeepers, don't I have a bit of shame ? The growth was in the cleft that shows above the belt of a good ol' boy in the back.

The physician's assistant who was going to do the procedure was a lady who of course had to examine the spot, she told me she wasn't sure and was going to go get the doctor to take a look. Heather and I waited, pretty soon this young male doctor came in and he had to make a close up inspection (glad I don't have stage fright), give an experts opinion on the status quo. He and the physician's assistant had a discussion while I stood there with my lower garments at half mast. Finally it was decided it was benign. As I was raising my britches to full hoist I noticed two nurses who had come in to get mooned too -- Lord onlyknows why.

Heather recovered from her embarassment fairly soon as we went home to grab another bottle of oxygen and go on out to Costco where we gassed the car, had polish dogs and a drink. Then Heather went shopping for us while I sat and sipped raspberry tea and wrote in my little note book.

By the time we got all the stuff loaded in the Saturn I was rather fumble footed but recuperated a bit on the way home. Then it was my beloved duty to grab a grocery buggy from the basement lobby, load it from the car and then do the hard part. It is an upgrade from where we park in the underground garage to the door to the elevator lobby. Just enough to make it a bit hard to push a loaded buggy up to the door, but like Red Skelton's ornery little boy, "I dood it anyway."

Got the buggy up to our apartment, unloaded it, watered the plants on the patio, took the buggy back down, came back up and barricaded the fortress, shed shoes and got in the comfort mode.

Through the evening I made three attempts to make an entry, ending up comatose in my chair. I really don't think I should be so tired, but I is, I is. And darn it, I just didn't have the time or inclination to throw a pity party.

Won't even think about tomorrow, am determined to just take it one day At A Time . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008