Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

04 October, 2001 - 23:57 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Right time ?

Somehow, tonight is just not the night to for me to go deeply into pleasant past memories and it isn't the night to try cracking wise. Tonight is my night of pure wonder and sober reflection.

Tonight I watched on TNT "Come Together," it just seems to me that the best thing I can possibly do now is to just shut my face and remember, with love and sadness, recent - very recent history.

Not in a spirit of either rage or sadness, but in solemn consideration of reality, now and in the future.

Is it existential to say, "isht happens ?" It truly does though, no fault of our own. I refuse to feel a damn bit guilty about any of this. I didn't do any wrong and I didn't advocate any violence of any type so I won't be suckered into feeling guilty as some think we should.

I feel that for most of us now is not the time to go into deep despair and breast beating, wearing sackcloth and ashes, and the Stone Age is already there in many parts of the other hemisphere, rather I think it is time to address the situation, nationwide with the gravity and thought it demands.

What are we willing to give ? What are we willing to give up ? Do we realize that trouble could escalate logarithmically if we do not use good judgement ? That each mistake in formulation cannot be taken back like a grudging school boy apology.

If it is here is this the Millenium or Milloonium ?

Are our wise officials organizing things and setting proper degrees of priority or just milling around as usual ? Are some of our solons running around flapping their arms and saying, "The sky is falling, the sky is falling." while the other half says, "It wouldn't dare !"

Seems we are throwing out the proverbial baby with the darn bathwater, enacting some laws that threaten our basic freedoms using the scarecrow of catastrophe.

In recent times before the WTC Holocaust things such as suspected drug dealers being relieved of their money, property and valuables, and with no evidence against them they are set free to spend the rest of their life trying to recover what was illegally taken from them. Now in this time frame if I read the news correctly, people here can be secretly arrested and no notification given to any one and held for an indefinite time, their homes and property secretly searched and possibly seized all in the name of preventing terrorism - - this in itself terrorizes me.

I wonder, am I setting myself up to vanish, just for what I write tonight ?

Are we a stampeding herd now ?

I can imagine a baby near time to be born wondering, is this the Right Time ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008