Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 09, 2001 - 20:26 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

A Columnist Does ?

Seems to me that a number of our coutrymen and some of our movers and shakers intimidated by the hoi polloi are getting into the, "Okay then, lets go hang someone -- or lets go kill a bunch of people -- or lets crucify someone who dares to voice an opinion.

I think by now that many of us have read Adair Lara's column of October 2nd in the SF Gate, San Fransisco Chronicle. It tells about a columnist who said something in his column about our top dog skedaddling after the attacks, as well as cabinet members and aides going for the cave.

Boy oh boy, did hell ever let loose and it seems that the people of Grant's Pass, Oregon demanded he be fired.

I will say this, his opinions along that line are not something I would have said, but I will defend his right to say it. Now just a damned minute, here in our country a bloody columnist gets fired for expressing an opinion ? ? ? ? Isn't that what columnists do or public commentators do ? express opinions ? By golly if I had known that was possible, I think a group of us could have got together and got Rush Limbaugh out of there before he got hard of hearing.

Bill Maher had the audacity to state that the hijackers of 911 2001 were not cowards.

I agree, whoever does what the hijackers did were not cowards - - - flat out plain and simple. Despicable, yes. Misled, yes. Probably insane ? could be. Dastardly, damn right.

Now, will I mysteriously disappear or die for saying what I just said ? Could happen. I won't sit here shaking in fear because I said what I feel and expressed myself according to my rights under the constitution.

In regard to Bill Maher's comment "The White House press secretary denounced Maher, SAYING, "IN TIMES LIKE THESE, PEOPLE HAVE TO WATCH WHAT THEY SAY AND WATCH WHAT THEY DO." Sounds very much lke a threat to us, I think, in my opinion !

In the Rocky Mountain News this morning is an article by Bob Keefe of Cox News Service that puts my radar in full alert mode scanning the skies for trouble from our own. I will quote the parts that make me wonder. Travelers could speed throuph airport security screenings using a "Smart" identification card, "under a nationwide program recommended by a FEDERAL TASK FORCE." Just which Federal Task Force are we talking about here ? Where does this task force come from ? What are their aims ? Do we get to vote on it ? Further along Mr. Keefe mentions just what some of us feel, "But some privacy advocates say they're concerned about who will have access to passengers' personal data, and whether such a program might pave the way toward a mandatory national identity card."

I can visualize the way it might insidiously go. People voluntarily going for it to avoid long check in lines at airports giving up their personal information to be imbedded in a Smart Card chip. Supposing then that the program is expanded to cover entry to public buildings, arenas, etc., etc., to progress a step further a drivers license with a imbedded chip and a photo would be that smart card now. How long would it be before it would be neccessary to carry a Smart ID Card to just be on the street ?

Shoot -- has it begun already ?

From an early age I was taught to not curse in class or in the hearing of adults. Always, if I spoke in a calm respectful way I could at least ask a question. Now I see that high school papers are being rigidly censored, groups are causing books to be taken off library shelves. Our internet filters refuse to let anyone have access to, "Breast Cancer," information and I suppose that bolts may not have nuts either. A lot of those things began a few years ago.

Political Correctness, narrow thinking, bigotry and downright dictatorial prerogatives might just make us citizens of the Fourth Reich !

And this guy, Dan Guthrie was fired for doing what -- A Columnist Does ? . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008