Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 17, 2001 - 23:07 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

No Choice

Going on midnight here and seeing that I have slept and inhaled liquids for many, many hours. I feel much better and am wondering if sleep is in the offing.

Off and on today I tried to watch the news on TV, Constant Nattering Nuts not only was busy repeating itself but had the constant streamers running at the bottom of the screen. I think I figured that out, that streamer diverts one's attention so that the main content cannot be memorized.

A short time of that and bed would beckon and with a slug of Seven Up off I would go.

I guess that some of us are inclined to sleep an ailment off unless there is too much pain keeping us awake it does seem to be restorative. But it is a bummer, crashing suddenly awake and knowing that the night is long and not wanting to be out of touch I know that I must say something for effect.

I don't have much to say tonight though (less than usual, you might say), yet my fingers need their exercise.

Reminds me of a chuckling I heard. Seems like there was a Mr. Smith flying from San Diego to San Francisco on a small commercial flight. He noticed another passenger nearby who was obviously blind with his seeing eye dog at his feet. (Now you know this is a joke -- there just ain't that much foot room on today's aircraft). The blind man sat quietly plugged into music. The plane made an unexpected landing on the way, the pilot said their would be some delay and anybody who wished could go into the terminal until the flight was called again.

Most of the passengers chose to accept the offer. After a bit Mr. Smith observed the pilot come up the aisle to go for coffee, and apparently acquainted with the blind man stopped beside him, tapped him on the shoulder and said, "George, we will be here for a little bit, do you want to stretch your legs ? I will come get you when it is time to go." George thanked the pilot and replied, "Thanks Jim, I'm comfortable here but my dog would like to walk around a bit."

The pilot graciously took the harness handle and led the dog off the plane. The crowd at the gate saw the uniformed pilot, wearing sunglasses accompanied by a seeing eye dog . . . . . . . no one asked anything, they all fell all over each other trying to get some other flight.

The immoral part of the story ? Don't always believe what you see, check first !

And now another trip to the throne room another drink of fruit juice and a try for sleep.

One consolation I have when not up to much is that, time goes on, it has No Choice . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008