Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 19, 2001 - 23:13 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Whine And Noses

When our kids became ambulant, one by one and could be put outside after begging to be let free, a silent conference between Heather and I ensued. Mama wanting to swaddle them into immobility, Dad wanting them to run and play but also wanting to keep a watchful eye on them. Usually a peaceful compromise would be minted and then one or ones would be let out to work up a sweat and get tired enough to want to come back in.

At those ages our kids were around a lot of other kids, cousins and not too long after that one after another of them would be swimming in whole schools of kids. They were gregarious and rubbed shoulders with whatever flock was near, consequently picking up whatever ailment was being pushed by an ill wind.

There was tender loving care and comforting by the both of us and having been children ourselves, once, long ago we met the enemy with equanimity.

After the whole brood had caught the current cold and whatever complications associated with the new batch then if needed Heather would take them to the doctor to take care of the whatevers, mostly consisting of cough syrup or other symptomatic relief. Then trying to amuse or trying to get them to amuse themselves would be attempted, with little success.

They, just like me, were sullen sufferers with a draggy attitude toward life in general. Various complaints would be forwarded, but translated into, "I don't feel good, don't feel peppy, can't breathe easily and my forehead is hot and I cough a lot. A little fever sure makes their Dad cranky too.

About the only difference between them and me is a trait of mine, when I get sick, bed and sleep for me is the cure all for anything. When they were ailing they fought sleep with all their might, while complaining was their par for the course.

Sore beaks came all too soon and the softest hankies, used just a few times still brought on the rosy bloom of a tender proboscis.

Heather and I, and the kids of course were fortunate that no winter ailment any of them had was ever serious, like pneumonia etc. Just the run of the mill "Coryza Fun Killer."

I don't know if they remember coping with evil colds, but we do and remember the days of Whine And Noses . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008