Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 28, 2001 - 20:32 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

All It Takes

Now it gets dark an hour earlier, nice, it was getting dark too soon for me already.

Today the worlds woes seemed to be weighing heavily on my heart. National, International and personal.

These next few months are the months I have to be sure to take my anti-depression medication. For few months, even with it can be rather grim.

Am I the only one torn this way by world events ? I want to know what is going on, but even the news papers seem to choke me with the waves of conjecture, opinion and bombast. Each item seems to be slanted or details left out, somtimes both. TV for me of course is out, especially the 24 hour kind. I want to know truthfully how we are doing, truthfully what is going on with anthrax, truthfully in the event we don't pull out like we did in Korea and Viet Nam what government will we put in ? Seems to me that Saddam was strengthened as a bulwark against Iran, also seems to me that we have supplied many South American countries with money, arms, machinery and heavy military training which allowed those in power to be complete cruel dictators. So, I want the truth, briefly and concisely and want it kept up to date. It'll never happen, we are humans after all.

So, Old Grumpy and Heather took daughter from her assisted living home to her favorite spot, The Golden Arches for her beloved hamburgers, Pepsi and french fries. After stuffing our faces and visiting a bit we took her back to her home and Heather went up to daughter's room to do something about her winter clothes and when she came back to the car we went across town to see her brother and visit with him. ON the way I got a look at the Rocky Mountains with the snow on the higher peaks.

The day lightened, visiting with family and spoiling Pixie the golden Lab takes a place in my heart and is soothing to me.

When we got in the car to go home, Heather asked me in a defeated tone, "As long as we are this close, I would really love to stop at Walmart to pick something up and I wouldn't be long. How about it old man ?" Usually this sort of thing goes over like a lead balloon with me. It was edging on dark, but what the hell, I owe her and her buying is usually for family and not selfish. Grumpily I said, "Okay lady, please step it up a bit this time." Sometimes her momentary stops run into an hour or more.

She parked, I eased off the safety restraints - - - well truthfully unlatched them, wiggled a bit to get comfortable, opened door on my side and the the glove compartment where I have a book to read and my notebook and pen. I am in the habit of carrying both to suit most any of my moods.

I took out my notebook and pen and started writing something I wanted to put in an entry when I have matured it (if I ever do) and things were reasonably warm and comfy and I was interested in what I was writing and became more or less oblivious to what was going on around me. I looked up, took a breath and glanced around to see the people streaming to and from cars and then looked west. What can I say ? It was an epiphany for me, I sat and watched a nonpareil sunset from its beginning on through its second by second changes, the colors changing as the sun lowered in the sky. In Denver the sunset lingers a bit as the Rocky Mountains hide the sun but the sun is still painting the clouds.

Night silently began to fall as Heather came back to the car, put her goodies in and we started home - eastbound a bit and the moon shone on a very happy man. Sometimes a look at the wonders that were created for us is medicine and All It Takes . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008