Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 03, 2001 - 16:21 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

She Said

Late in a sunshiny, summer afternoon, Mom opened the door, looked out and saw Douggie coming down the walk, tousled hair, scuffed shoes, knees on pants green from grass. He looked up and saw his Mom and got a sorrowful, downcast look on his face. Then things went something like this.

First a typical comment from a half worried, half thankful mother - and then the performance of a lifetime. "Well Mom, after we hung the cattle rustlers and fought off the Indians we were in the trenches in France being shelled, 'n' then, 'n' then we sailed the Spanish Main as fighting crew on a pirate ship.

On the way home we saw Bob and Joe in a ball game in the vacant lot down the street 'n' well we played just one inning. Then we stopped at the corner store and I bought a pack of Juicy Fruit gum.

I'm real sorry for being late Mom, it seemed that I just went out to play a bit ago.

Gee, you're purty Mom, I love you."

How could one finish the story after hearing such an excuse ? Douggie getting a whipping ? I don't think it could end that way, don't think I want it to. I had a time or two like that in my boyhood and the adult was merciful. 'Twasn't any lie, either, I would just be caught up in the adventure of zestful boyhood living.

But I do remember the following, "Where have you been ?" She Said . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008