Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 17, 2001 - 15:08 PST

THE WONDERING JEW

By The Fire

A cozy day was had by this old guy and a peaceful one too. Grandaughter came in from her Friday night sleep in, sleepily, whoever heard of sleeping at one ? Grandson is catching upon his homework, playing with his Sim City, a fascinating pastime.

The ladies, not quite caught up on shopping were out two, or was it three times today. I suspect that some of this shopping will go home with us in an extra suitcase, as usual. We tote stuff to Eugene each time and carry back as much or more each time. What, I wonder, do they do ? Swap possessions each time ?

LOL, tickles me now to remember back when once we were headed home in our Saturn sedan with a ton of stuff packed around a heavy exercycle behind us, the tail of the car was not quite dragging behind, but close to it. Leaving Boise on our way, early in the morning we had a flat tire. In a light rain no less (or should I say a light rain already) ? Fortunately, seeing our silver pates a couple of men on their way to work stopped, unloaded the back end of the car, got the spare tire out, changed it, reloaded the back end with the spare in a chink on top of stuff. Heather and I headed back to Boise and bought a tire and continued on our way, commenting on the fact how fortunate we weren't headed back to Denver to jobs.

I did see a frozen turkey, two boxes of Satsuma Mandarin oranges and a bunch of other goodies in their haul, so their shopping wasn't in vain.

I expect that after we eat tonight we will have our usual grand Rummy game with the kids taking a very active part now.

Then tomorrow is the day for the celebration of grandson's birthday. Gee, he is going to be one of those guys that the opposing footballers bounce off of. He is taller yet than his Mom and Grand Mom and almost as tall I am. His daddy is well over six feet tall, as is daughte's youngest brother. Genes in Jeans maybe ?

We usually see him on his birthday but his sister goes it without us, February is such a bad month for travel that our lack of attendance is excused by her. She is such a smart, sweet little lady who, one day have the teen age boys turning themselves into clumsy oafs trying to charm her. So I am biased, isn't that a grand 's job ?

Seems that I nap a bit every day now, but still fly with the bats at night. My prerogative I guess, I've served my time and Heather takes pity on me, so why not ? I do get a little exercise each day, lifting tons of bagged waste to put down our garbage chute in the apartment at home. So I am on vacation here you might say, or you might say something else,- - I heard that, it wasn't a nice way to talk about a Sexy Senior Citizen - - - and I heard that too Heather, be nice.

But grandpa does occasionally sit and doze By The Fire . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008