Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 21, 2001 - 14:57 PST

THE WONDERING JEW

Molly

Molly Ivins, I see, is now shown as a columnist for the Creators Syndicate. The last time I had a chance to read one of her columns she was shown as a columnist for the Fort Worth Star Telegram. Her outlook hasn't changed, its still the same and one on which I very seldom have a reservation.

Her column today is titled: "Terrorism isn't stopped by shelving civil liberties." I think her column on this subject hits the nail so hard on the head that the point comes out in China. So I won't quote extensively as I often do one columnist or another. All I will say is, when she gets jailed for saying what she does, I want occupy a cell in the same jail because this will not be our country anymore. Read it, if you can't find it I will be happy to e-mail the content.

That my friends is a compressed rant.

Now to the important part of my diary on this eve. It seems to me that many of us have forgotten to be thankful for anything now. Not thankful to live in a country of Democratic states (If the Republicans haven't changed that to another term), wherein we may all have some different opinions, most of us grant leeway to others who feel differently, think differently, and have different denominations and aims. At least I hope there is still the possibility that this will be so for all time.

Heather and I have so very, very much to be thankful for that our list of, "Counted Blessings," stretches on into infinity. Thankful for each other, thankful for our family, for the state and country we live in, thankful that we can help others who are in need and extremely thankful for the freedom that we still do have, thankful to our higher power, and for our interest in things that make life sparkle.

But it seems to be not so for many now. I can understand those out of work, those who are homeless and those under inescapable duress, those who are abused. But it just isn't possible that the majority of our people fall into that category, however seeing the mood and hearing the talk of the people who I have heard lately, there doesn't seem to be enough money, possessions, status and adoration to satisfy so many. How can that be ? Didn't we all read history ? Don't we read the newspapers ? Can't we see that most of us are so much better off than the great majority of the people of the World ?

Heather and I are looking forward to a family gathering, one who will also have invited guests attending. A gathering where polite debate ensues after dinner, the kids are doing their thing and the women comparing notes on the important stuff, like survival and giving moral support to the lady who put it all on the table. Anyhow it is always peaceful, friendly, happy and of course serene.

I suppose I could go on and express my thankfulness for my cyber friends whom I hold in the highest regard, and for their support and encouragement over time. For a man who is almost totally deaf, cyber friends are the ones who can hear what is said, because it is said on the keyboard, and vice versa - - - ain't it grand ?

But I am thankful to be alive, ambulant, knowing who I am and where I am. And I am thankful to be reminded of some of the important things in life by a Lady by the name of Molly . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008