Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 07, 2001 - 22:02 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

'Druther Be

Wading against the current, wearing a tight steel vest with a head stuffed with cotton batting. That's me today, not much pain, but having discomfort to a high degree though, my thoughts have slowed to a crawl. Other than that things are peachy keen.

My memory machine needs a new timing chain and my frame needs to be straightened and welded.

Boy, ain't I a sight ?

Did I miss anything? Other than the usual messy dickering in Congress, the ?war? tunneling in the rocks and the generals on TV who act as if as if they just came out of a remedial language class. Muggings, killings on the streets and people murdering each other in vehicular homicide?

Yes Virginia, good things are happening, but never make it to the papers or TV. I have a super kind loving family and friends. Who do good things for each other, and occasionally hear about some good thing happening nearby. But good things, kindness and nice people aren't news. If a multi-millionaire donates enough money to build a hospital or a wing on a college, he is mentioned briefly but incredulity seems to be seeping out from the edges of the article somehow.

Spring is just a few months away so things can't be all bad, it just seems like that when I rise from the rack in the morning it gets a bit worse through the day.

There are things and people that I could have been and done, but I didn't. "Jack Armstrong, the All American Boy -- won't you buy Wheaties," that's who I 'Druther Be . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008