Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 11, 2001 - 20:33 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Snurfle

Seems like the dump valve is stuck closed and my head is going into a high pressure spasm trying to dispose of what is coughed up from below and drips down from my sinuses.

It is easy I guess for an old man to sink into apathetic misery when his faulty breathing machine is in trouble. I can't call out for Mommie and I am old enough to understand that moral support won't cure a cold, bronchitis or allergy.

But I am crotchety when my rackety, coughety system wheezes, gurgles and fills one box of Kleenex after another. I have been a good boy too. In the last few days I have used four bottles of saline mist enough to clean out the Augean Stables, two bottles of Robitussin, my Ventolin inhaler, my Qvar inhaler, my Beconase inhaler, eaten right and and swallowed mucho orange juice as well as gallons of soup and water. What the heck, today I did laundry, the dishes and other minor household duties, hoping that would suffice as exercise.

Yet tonight, I don't feel better and am still running a light fever. Thursday afternoon if I don't feel better and am still running a fever I will call the clinic and tell them I am ailing and it is getting worse. It just doesn't seem to me that a virus would hold on that long. Until then Heather will lay in some more Kleenex, more Robitussin and Saline mist for me.

In the meantime, in the midst of this trainwreck, let us have one giant pity party, all in favor cough twice. Even took Tylenol 'n' all which cut the sinus pain a bit. But - - - I ain't comfortable and resent my body treating me this way, but where do I go to complain ? Which room, what counter and what wording should I use? Do I need a note from home?

So I shall just laugh at it cough, cough, sneeze, Snurfle . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008