Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 12, 2001 - 18:55 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Sittin' Thoughtfully

Pushing piles to the side tonight and trying to address Christmas cards. I fear it is already too late for them to arrive at the proper time, but it is now rather than later.

This is a long involved process for me. Each name on my list takes me back through the pages of time. Even though it is to someone I met last week and enjoyed their company, it is lived through once more. Here is one to Fred, we worked together in the 60's, gosh, over 40 years ago. His wife birthed a daughter about the same time Heather had our last baby. Picnics in the park on summer weekend days, sometimes up in the Mountain Parks. Visits back and forth to each other's houses. Well, I remember the time . . . . Get to work old man, you're draggin more than you feet.

Scenes from the past, faces of time gone, synchronized with the faces and scenes of today. "Hey, old man, how you been? Yer older and uglier than you ever were."

Each card starts another story line, and lost in thought my eyes glaze a bit, looking back to what was. Folk I worked with who became my friends, who understood me and I them. We are still in touch but are to busy with our own families and affairs to do much more than exchange Christmas cards.

Its a good thing for me that I am not sitting by a fireplace, between the memories of the past and the flickering flames flowing into my eyes, little physical movement would occur and not one address other than the first one would be put down on an envelope.

Right now this entry is a break from addressing Christmas cards, and if am not vigilant, midnight will find me Sitting Thoughtfully . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008