Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 15, 2001 - 21:12 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Avarice

The day of the Giant SUV's and fortified monster pickups, the ones with huge tires, a full gun rack in the back window and a six pack in a cooler by the driver is with us.

I drive a compact car and am usually driving speed limit or a bit above. Going back home in the evening after a visit, in the mirror I see a space ship all lit up above us ? No just one of those SUV's or Pickups with their halogen lights high off the ground. It always seems to be coming on to us from behind at warp speed or maybe faster.

It seems as if a new possession must be a heck of a lot bigger, faster, more expensive than anybody else's. The same goes with clothes, jewelry and stuff. I do believe the only difference between a dress that costs $500 and an identical one costing $25 is the buyers prerogative of bragging on how much their exclusive gown cost them.

I have even seen Monoply Game Boards made of metal with that neat little drawer on each side where the precious metal chessmen can be stored. Cost is far more than $100. And ya' know a lot of this stuff is not really pretty, just more expensive.

The point is that a vehicle is to get one from Point A to Point B at a reasonble speed in reasonable comfort. All else is splash. My Dad used to say, "The only way I would ever buy one of those big Cadillacs is if I was a man who traveled all the time in his car professionally." I think he had a point.

I know that will be booed and cussed at for being a traitor to the male chest beaters and drawn and quartered by the style loving women. But what the heck, unless Ashforce has changed things around drastically, I do still have a right to express my opinion. I am also willing to live and let live, as long as I don't have to buy the gas and tires for the rigs or wear a Neiman Markup set of clothes.

Is all this pure and simple Avarice ? ? ? ? ? ?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008