Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 25, 2001 - 23:25 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

A Fine Day

Our day started before daylight as the kids normally wake up then. There was nothing else to do but get the brown transfusions in the making and pry our eyes open. Our Eugene grandkids had a tremendous blast opening presents from the near and far family. There was great excitement as we adults were told time after time, "Oh, look at this, see what it will do."

About the third cup of the precious brown stuff we adults had our turn and each of us found out that although many things had been bought for Christmas with the knowledge of our mates, that for each person there was a nice surprise gift too (peaky sneople).

Then a hurry up breakfast so that we all could get to work to get ready for the family flow through the rest of the day. My grandson moved furniture out of the way so that I could vacuum everywhere, and then moved it back. He took care of shaking out the small rugs too. What a boon to my back all of that was, I drive a pretty mean Orek.

Our daughter and I put the extra leaf in the big table, and then she and her mother got the cloths on. Our women folk spent every minute getting all the eatables laid out, making two kinds of soup and dip for the chips. With joyous hearts of course. Heather was in a Mother's glory and shone like a star among our kids and grandkids. She even got a turn holding the latest Great- grandchild for awhile in between her busy-ness.

So, it truly was a day of merry celebrating and feasting. What more can a man say about his wonderful family? They were all good to Heather and I, gave us nice presents even though we told them to just buy for the kids an forget us -- those rascals did both.

Just finished putting the last dishes and silverware away and sat down to my keyboard to talk to myself about the wonder of a loving family and how much we enjoyed the whole day.

Every bit was greatly worthwhile and all in all it was A Fine Day . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008