Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 27, 2001 - 22:55 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Evens Out

Eeeps, two pages into an entry and I dumped it. In it I was going back to my early adulthood, my marriage, the loss of my Mother when I was 22 years old.

It dealt with me an only child blending in with Heather's family consequently me marrying into a bunch of brothers and sisters. In which I thanked my maker to the nth degree. I had always longed for brothers and sisters.

My Dad after Mom's death and a long period of grief courted and married a lady from where he worked. Mom had ailed after I had married, consequently visiting was limited between us. After Dad's second marriage he was taken into his wife's large family as I had been by Heather's family, so visiting between us was limited again.

After his second wife died of cancer and having had several strokes previously himself he went into an assisted living facility. It turned out that it wasn't for him. I was just before being out of a job where I was working up in Boulder and when it let me out, we moved back to Denver and taking Dad to his home and caring for him in his last few years.

So Heather and I took him with us to her families events and they pretty well adopted him too. One funny thing occurred during that time. Our baby daughter went into Middle School meeting new experiences and people, during the course of our conversations about her my Dad began to give us advice on child raising. We listened respectfully and finally one time I said words to the effect of, "Dad, we raised four children to adulthood and have almost finished with raising the fifth, besides we have had three girls and you only had one rotten boy to raise. I claim expertise over seniority." He chuckled and although saying nothing at the time, he kept his silence from there on about child raising.

We had many, many pleasant times with him before he died. Today I thought back on our history after he died and realized that there had been troubles galore, which we faced and solved. I think the scales are in balance and that it all Evens Out . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008