Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-03-20 - 23:07:15

words, letters, forgetfulness, I make my entry, then edit

it and when I finally leave it, it seems to be alright.

When I look at it in the morning my eyes scream at the

missed letters, the twisted words, the left out words

and the grammatical construction that is even worse than

my usual conversation.

But, yet I know there is room for

improvement and I am working on it. In a situation where

I can use the Webtv spell checker it always makes me feel

that I am improving when it says, "no errors were found."

"Ah so," Mr. Moto said, "but how about the awkward

construction ? How about the words which are correctly

spelled, but not used by you because they do not define

what was in your mind ?" " Weeell" I say to me, have

you no mercy ?" and the answer I get is, "Huh even after

a week when you go back and look at it, can you understand

what the hell you were trying to say ?" I tuck my tail

between my legs, cringe and promise to do better.

Then

I think to myself, "Geez, when they start making mind

reading equipment which can anticipate what you are going

to say next, and the mind reading feature has put your

thoughts in original and interesting order ?" After

thinking a bit and consulting the Muses it dawns on me,

and I say to Bastion, "Then everybody will be interested

in becoming Journalists, Diarists, Writers, Expositors or

all of the above and nobody will be left with the time to

read everything."

Then I think, maybe it would be

wise to learn the publishing business because so many will

not be content to leave their deathless words laying on

the web and want to see their out put on the bookstore

shelves. Naaaah, somebody already thought of that.

O.K. then, maybe pick up a couple of courses at the

community college nearby and set myself up as a teacher

of the written word in all of its aspects. It haunts me

though what I have heard through the years, "Those who

can, do and those who can't, teach." I never liked that

saying. It may apply to someone in the athletic academia

who was a star performer in his field when he was younger

and no longer has the stamina and strength and

coordination to do well on the field but has a vast amount

he can teach to the ones eagerly coming up. I can see

that and allow that its possible.

In any kind of

writing ? I don't think so. I am not brain dead yet, it

rattles around in that empty skull a bit and makes noise

but still functions, doesn't it ? So I guess I will hit

the Strunk & White, fall asleep over the dictionaries

and do crossword puzzles and word games like Scrabble and

Up Word. Do a lot of anagrams and acrostics, argue with

some person who writes an opinionated line of stuff just

to get the mental exercise. Bastion tells me, "Well

boss, some of all that may help. But the idea is to keep

putting one word in front of the other in as logical and

pleasing a manner as you can, and for Criminy sake come

up with some ideas that haven't been worn and beat around

and are disgustingly stale and trite." "O.K. then, "It

was a dark and stormy night when our hero heard an eerie

sound coming from the cellar . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008