Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 15, 2002 - 17:03 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

In Another Land

There was this young girl, pitifully sick but striving to stay alive and be happily cheerful who, to me it seemed, was recounting the dreadful things she encountered, and fought. Her saga had been going on for quite some time I guess, I hadn't heard of her 'till some one mentioned her Weblog and I started reading it.

She was what I would want every girl to be, under any circumstances, any time. Her words rang true and plucked heartstrings, mine at least, and her poetry was greatly inspiring, her thoughts loving and generous to the max. She was one of the reasons that I came back into belief from agnosticism.

I found out long ago that Santa Claus was not real and had grown into begrudging acceptance of that reality. Now, however came a blow more heart rending than the loss of my Santa. Through the detective work of a group of people, whose original thought was probably that Kaycee was too good to be true that the gruesome tale emerged. Kaycee didn't exist, never had. As the investigation went on the whole story came out. I doubt if anyone will ever find out really the true motive of this person who perpetrated the hoax.

I was one of probably many who sent her an e-card every day, rooting for her recovery and trying to lift her spirits.

Reality splattered against the wall. My mind didn't want to accept the fact there was no Kaycee. When finally accepting the truth, then depression loomed over me. A thing I must be vigilant to keep from overwhelming me. I didn't lose an angel easily. Tucked away in my heart is the gravestone inscribed, "Here lies Kaycee the angel that never was."

The generous man who set up her weblog was taken for a ride as were many others. It resounded over the net I think. The thing that worried me greatly is the fear that trust between journalists would pretty well disappear. It might have waned a modicum, yet I think the innate goodness of people allowed them to once again trust in the reality of other journalists. It might make them check bona fides a little more carefully.

Many times in real life we are hoaxed cruelly and have to take time to heal and move on. So too in Never-Never Land there must be a time of recovery, for us all I think.

I had printed out all of her weblog entries that I could get, read and read them -- stored them finally away when the thunder clapped. Not too long ago, I re-read the story of The Girl Who Never Was and was again inspired by the spirit in that tale and then laid to rest that story under the gravestone in my heart -- the paper spread to the dumpster.

My friends are still my friends, regardless of our feelings then and our friendship may even be stronger now I hope.

So for me the beautiful Myth Of Kaycee happened far, far away, long, long ago In Another Land . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008