Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 25, 2002 - 19:22 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

They're Mine

Looking back, trying to sort out another unwanted seqence of events. Heather went over to take her brother to the Post Offce. At the Post Office the car stalled - dead and wouldn't start. Someone gave her a jump-start and she sat in the car with the engine running while he picked up his prescriptions then dropped her brother after doing those two things and headed home.

To back track a bit -- the car is a 96 which means that the battery was installed in 1995 plus 7 = 2002. So it was about time for a change.

She locked the car while it was running, ran in and told me to hurry up and get dressed and come out to the car. She went out to wait on me.

This is one of the things I hate about being a one car family, no matter how careful one is in car survival old Murphy sticks his finger in along the way. Cussing ourselves for not getting a new one on the last service cycle we prayed our way to the Saturn Agency out our way and put the car in, telling them it was probably the battery but to please check the electrical system. We received a quote on the cost and settled down to read and drink some coffee in the lounge.

After a bit the service person came and told us the battery was in and electrical system checked and tossed a comment in for free that our front brakes were done for. We had expected that, but not so soon. Ha, foolish people. So time went by and finally that was done.

Time had us in a serious crunch then there were things to be done that couldn't be handled on Saturday (tomorrow). Heather dropped me at my credit union to do business while she went down to sign us up for the 55 Alive driving course. We get bucks knocked off our insurance premiums when we do that. It was important for us to sign up soon as the classes fill rapidly.

When she picked me up she told me that that I had to go sign up for myself. We were near Costco with an almost empty tank, so we did a pit stop to buy gasoline on the way back to sign me up for the 55 Alive thingy.

In spite of Murphy and the fates it was all done in time for us to drive several miles in the super rush time traffic going home.

Compared to other peoples troubles and problems ours were relatively minor. But thinking about it a bit, neither one of us or both of us together can push a car out of the way of traffic -- let alone being able to walk somewhere to call for help. Only thing that could have made our situation more iffy would have been the lack of funds and / or snowing and blowing conditions.

Minor train wreck on a spur off the main line, but the ensuing sweat and pain, well you know they are important to me 'cause They're Mine . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008