Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 08, 2002 - 22:31 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

That's Life

Things don't come just in threes anymore, but in groups of three maybe.

The priority of course is David, who seems to be holding his own and maybe a bit better. They decreased his oxygen today, so he is doing better than he was. But today they had to aspirate the phlegm from his throat. I can imagine how he fussed and cried over that. There doesn't seem to be a way for a nurse to accomplish that without discomfort to the patient.

Monday at 6 AM Heather will have cataract surgery and then Tuesday she will see the surgeon for her post op checkup. She has the same surgeon I did and he is superb. I do so hope her's goes as well as mine did, I'm thinking positive as well as I can.

Heather's lady friend of many years lost her husband yesterday, he was killed in an auto accident. We don't know yet what day the funeral will be, but we will be there.

We are still waiting for the forms to give IRS for income tax -- jeepers April keeps getting closer and closer and we are not having much luck on the phone getting the necessary paper work.

We have a new manager of our apartment building and the usual waves are still sloshing around. Every time we get a new one we have to fill out information forms, yadda yadda, yadda.

Suddenly after things going smoothly there is some kind of foul up on my oxygen. The day of delivery he ran out before he got here, and didn't call us and let us know. A bunch of phoning back and forth, garbled gabble -- ended with the cylinders in the hall leaning near our door. Dangerous to say the least for kids who come through the hall. Playing with them could knock the neck off one of the bottles and voila, an unguided missile. I'll get it straightened around sooner than later, that's my best guess. At least I have enough bottles to last until things are straightened out.

Heather went into the clinic the day before yesterday for some kind of scan to see if cancer had got into her bones -- injection which made her sick and a long wait until they did the scan. Seems to be SOP after breast surgery. Seems that she will be doctoring for many of her ailments, on and on. Most of which she has been coping with for quite some time. We couldn't afford to stay at Mayo Clinic long enough for them to do complete testing and Kaiser keeps giving her one test after another and finding nothing wrong after each test. If she were another person I would think she might be a hypochondriac - but she is not another person and I know her too well. I have seen her bear things that I think would have put any man down while she went about life doing needful things.

One good thing, I am clear of bronchitis, that is after it went from viral to bacterial and was treated for ten days with antibiotics. One point for our side.

Another thing we have had to make allowance for is the increase in the rates we have to co-pay our HMO. We are still better off than most people, but with all the doctoring we both do causes an increase in visits and prescription drugs do add up. If we weren't in a HMO, we couldn't even afford to die.

There are myriad things on the good and cheerful side of things for us, but right now they are in the shadow of the bad.

Like everyone else, place one foot in front of the other and progress is made. I guess when all is said and done That's Life . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008