Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-03-24 - 19:20:44

March 24 2000

I am getting e-mails that they are unable to get to the "contact me" box on my page - - - - I don't know what is going on, but have asked for help from diaryland.

The FBI has grabbed Denver Police files dealing with abuse complaints against the police. Seems to me that there is a lot of smoke coming out of city hall and maybe some fire is burning someone's tail.

In my teen age years Mexicans were fair game for mistreatment, gays the same and the homosexual contingent caught hell too. Back then it usually received a slap on the wrist to the accused abuser. I remember when some of my classmates would say, "Lets go beat up on some queers." They would go off and the next day recount the evenings score.

This all reminds me of an entry in Readers Digest years ago. It engaged in a flight of fancy on discrimination, where in, it was the Catholics against the Protestants, and there the long drawn out story ended up with one white teenager against one white teenager with freckles.

Somewhere I read something like, "Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely," or words to that effect. And all the things coming to light recently seems to prove that old saying true.

I read once that sadists and abusers seem to seek out jobs that give them the opportunty to harm others. I was never physically harmed, but do remember a couple of women teachers who plainly said that they hated boys, and the male pupils in her class failed or got lower grades than they deserved. I also had a male teacher once in Jr. High School, who flat out said he hated kids at the start of the semester.

Abuse comes in many different devious ways, physical, mental, or the rights of a group ignored. Some times it is subtle and hard to discern. Abuse and discrimination seem to go as a pair and are done by people who have been given the power to quell disturbances and or uphold the law by physical force if necessary. Supervisors in companies and corporations seem to be able to twist things around to make life unpleasant for a disliked worker.

Maybe we are just in a larger schoolyard, with bigger bullies and limited strength to resist.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008