Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 05, 2002 - 18:07 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Bipolar Molars

Thwarted, curses - foiled again. Heather had errands to do today and I had to stay at our apartment to let maintenance in to do some work and see that it was done right.

Looking off to the west, seeing the sunshiny day out there and being tied to the telephone and the apartment bugged me. Particularly because I could blame nobody, it was just one of those brown things that happens. I wanted to be out, at least walking the quad around the pond at the complex, but that was a no-no, might miss the maintenance worker. He was supposed be here at about ten AM, two PM he showed up and worked for about an hour plus a few minutes.

I knew that Heather was taking her brother to Russell Stover's for his sugarless candy, and to pick up our Hoppy Bunny stuff for the grands. I also was pretty sure he would want to make a bank run and maybe Walmart to shop and have a bite, and he did. I also knew that Heather was going to Costco, the cleaner's, Hobby Lobby and her credit union.

Being near the first of the month the trip would be her grand shopping for the month. A bale of t.p., a cargo of Tide, two gallons of milk, canned goods, dishwasher powder, yadda yadda, Hobby Lobby and the detritus of shopping not to mention the flotsam and jetsam. So I knew two things, she would be totalled when she got home and I would need to go down to the parking garage with a buggy, load the loot and bring it upstairs. I can see the logic behind how the parking garage is laid out and I have experienced the consequence. From the elevator lobby in the lower level to get into the parking garage there are two doors to go through (fire guard) the door out is atop a grade -- high water down there would tend to go out the drains before it would come in the lobby. All well and good.

Its easy to go down, grab a buggy, go to the car and load the buggy. And loaded it was today. Then came the uphill trek to the lobby doors. At the edge of total fatigue it was then necessary to hold on to the durn buggy while opening the door and pushing the loaded buggy up and in to the air lock -- a feat of strength and coordination. Deep breath while leaning on the handle of the buggy then through the door to the Inner Sanctum and thence up to our floor from the Outer Limits.

I knew that an exercise walk was not in the cards, nor in the book for this afternoon. Heather came in carrying some of the very delicate perishables, shoved them in the freezer, flopped in her chair and said, "You know the drill." Me, "Can I take our little buggy or do I need one of the ones from downstairs ?" Heather, "Get the biggest you can." I did.

Makes me giggle a bit it does, later on I stuck my nose out the door of our patio and sniffed the breeze. As far as exercise goes, unloading our car was probably more than I could have obtained from a walk. But not near as much fun.

Then the comedy of errors surfaced. I stumbled getting around the buggy in the apartment (damned foot drop) caught my foot in the tangle of oxygen tube on the floor and fell on my keister. Nothing harmed except my dignity was a bit ruffled. I then hit my easy chair for a spell and catching my breath I unloaded the buggy, scattering stuff here and there and took the buggy back down, returning to flop back down for another hiatus. Now was that hiatii or hiatuses ?

I could have made it easier, made two loads of it. Lighter it would have been, but having to push up the hill twice was unattractive to this poor beleaguered, feeble, brainless old fart. So, the dilemma of biting off more than I can chew demonstrates that I have Bipolar Molars . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008