Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 10, 2002 - 22:25 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Clouding Over

I am in the doldrums of discontent and it seems as if there are others experiencing the same sort of unease.

There are many things that perturb me locally, Jon Benet Ramsey's murder investigation is like a muddy cow pasture after running ten thousand cattle through it. The Columbine High School tragedy has had various officials contradicting themselves, refusing to open the files and with Governor Owens as well as the Federal Government from the US attorney for Colorado to the Attorney General of The United States seemingly have decided that Columbine should be forgotten thus aborting a Grand Jury investigation which might actually bring out some facts -- as embarassing as they might be. It looks to me that there has been a concerted effort to gloss over both Jon Benet and Columbine High School. That is just a couple of mysterious things locally, in our own pasture you might say.

I saw something in the paper the other day in reference to Bush's steel tariff. Seems like the one who wrote that bit is a bit late on his guesses. He seemed to think that industry will move off shore over that. Jiminy, it is already to the point of the last corporation to leave the US will shut off the lights. Our economists try to say that this is normal and that things will straighten out after while. And sure they will, when the last corporation moves all their operations out of country, establishes hidden accounts in off shore banks and begin to make significant money. But wait a minute, are the stockholders moving out of country too ? It looks to me that the profit hounds will eventually cut out the stockholders in favor of foreign investments. Then it is possible that we will have a country of poor, starving people who will be lucky to receive the kind of aid the US rendered during World War Two.

It seems that our constitution is being nibbled to death and is in danger of becoming totally ineffective. Present administration appears, in my opinion, to be striving to establish something on the order of a dictatorship. The Old Grey Poet in Somerset, England has his opinion on this very thing, as well as some other things about hate, rage, mistreatment.

Bev Sykes in her Funny The World has some thing in her entry today mentioning that it appears much of our hate, bigotry, cruelty and disregard of the rights of other people are things that are learned at home. Points up my idea that a lot of this is learned by example from the grown ups.

Israel and the Muslims, if anyone is keeping score, my guess is there are 10 to 50 Palestinians killed for every Israeli. What boggles my mind is that both sides are stubbornly refusing to look at the situation in the light of reason. I have Jewish blood in my veins, I didn't have a Jewish mother though, so technically I guess I am not Jewish. But I was sickened by the Holocaust and have rooted for Israel for years, hoping that they would establish a peaceful country but now Israel seems to be lost in blood lust. Doesn't look to me that it will happen. The armament and munitions corporations the world over are making big bucks though. They must be, the stuff shipped out of Russia after their break up must have been used up long ago and by now new stuff is being supplied.

I had hopes that by now my grandchildren and great grandchildren would be assured of peace, prosperity and clear skies, but now it looks like it is Clouding Over . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008