Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 11, 2002 - 17:57 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

There Be Good

I grumpily forced my eyes open this morning as waking is not a favorite activity for this night owl. Stumbled into the kitchen, poured my coffee that Heather had already made, I think I grunted in her direction and headed to my room and the keyboard.

Before I took a short time to read e-mail my decision to avoid reading the newspapers or watching the drivel on TV was arrived at and brought forth a sigh of relief.

Just for today I decided to let the world go to hell in its own way realizing that no matter how much I moaned, complained and criticised not much would be accomplished by me.

Tomorrow's activities haven't been formulated yet - but I will fight for tranquility and pleasure as well as having fun once again.

So with a grin on our faces we headed out to do stuff. Today went well, in fact more than well. Heather and I went in to have our income tax returns Blocked. Same man we have had for several years, we fit. Our income for last year was more than before and we expected to pay some taxes rather than be home free due to low, almost no income. It was a surprise to find out we will be getting back some money from the state rather than owing the US Infernal Robbery Section some filthy lucre or money either. So we had a celebratory lunch at one of my favorite places - Wendy's - rather than fix something at home. Dropped by a Walgreen's new to us, near the scene of our other two activities. Wow, what an improvement over the one near us. It was a pleasure to troll the well stocked aisles, finding the things we went in for as well as things unnecessary but fun.

Later Heather went out on some errands and swung by the Post Office while out, returning with a Video Tape I have been expecting for some time.

This tape was of a cyber friend of mine of long standing and his wife, also of a friend of his and his wife celebrating a Friday Night that I would like to have attended, they did some mean pickin' and grinnin', my feet were thumpin' the floor and I did a bit of grinnin' myself in enjoyment. I also was given a tour of his homeplace, a nearby battle ground with accompanying history and some pleasant countryside where he lives.

Again the weather here was warm and comfortable, we rode with the car windows down sniffing the wind while we were out aways, until we came into Smoggy Bottom, then we just breathed. There is beginning to be a hint of green in places foretelling the arrival of the beloved season when new growth green makes a pervading mist in trees and shrubs -- almost like a light smoke.

While we were running around today Heather and I had a chance to indulge in light conversation, and remembrance of good times past. Nothing of import needed to be discussed, we knew what we were doing and just enjoyed being with each other.

The rest of the day seems to indicate that reading and answering e-mails and reading the latest journals will be the pleasure for me that it usually is. Makes me remember good things don't make headlines. But I love it when good things happen to folks, me included.

So once again I see that, here . . . There Be Good . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008