Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 19, 2002 - 21:42 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Retro

So now green sprouts begin to seep from under my fingernails and the moss thickens in my eyebrows, but when I tell Heather spring is here I get that quirky eyebrow thingy with a, "Yeah riiiight !"

After a shower and a manicure I dash over to the calendar and check it out. By golly, the equal verninox is on the 19th of this month - tomorrow. The first day of spring and the last month of winter in Denver.

Two years ago on March 19 I wrote, facing the fact that Nietzsche and I are both wrong. A DISMAL DECISION easy to see that I can be wrong, but Super Mensch ?

Last year on the 19th of March my mind was again entangled with happenings and the greening of Denver -- foliage that is and I wrote WOOL GATHERING had to shake the snow off that one before it could be combed out a bit.

My mind is beginning to shrug off the hair shirt of SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) and think of the vital, virile, green sprouts thrusting up through the earth breaking ground for the soon to be soft, yellow Daffodils to be followed soon by the glory of Forsythia and Tulips of many colors. The trees of the land here will soon have a green mist that presages leaves soon to burst out. I have already found limberness in some of the twigs I tugged.

In my heart and soul there begins to be a resurgence of pure happiness in living and joy in the bounty of God given Nature. Soon the clouds will begin to once again be the puffy, powder puff clouds with blue sky between that indicates the mean, greasy, grey flat, ominous clouds are gone for this season.

Forethoughts abound in my mind of picnics and softball games and the clang of horseshoes, hearing lawn mowers once again. Seeing a rainbow in the spray of a lawn sprinkler. I don't look forward to those damnable leaf and lawn blowers though - they grate on the mind.

Also coming to my mind is that this will be I am sure the last spring that my beloved columnist Gene Amole, friend of many years reading, will spend with his family on this earth.

He just got back from spending time with his family on Maui, Hawaii and according to what he writes they had a fabulous time, his little grandson playing in Paradise and his family pushing his wheel chair to the places he wanted to go once again. It seems to me that Gene might still be going after I am gone because I think maybe he will live until he has no more to say in print. It would be nice if he could do it more or less painlessly.

Since he found out he was dying he has been cranking out a fabulous column every day. I rather suspect that most of them he puts on his laptop at home, with great effort now. But on he goes.

I think that is the exit I would like to make from life, surrounded by loving family in the glory of Spring out of doors.

So what do I do ? The same old stuff, rant and remember. How Retro . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008