Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 22, 2002 - 19:27 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Friday Five

1. - My favorite time of year ? - Spring then Summer, Fall.

2. - Why ? - Because then every growing thing is once again coming back to life after the grim browning and hibernation of winter. The breeze brings odors of growing plants on warm wings and the clouds begin to puff up and allow blue sky in between. And I too come back to a semblance of lfe.

3. - What is your least favorite season ? - Winter is my least favorite season of the year preceeded by Fall. Fall presages cold and snow and although brisk outdoor play is fun, winter coldly glowers over my shoulders. SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) is for the most part a winter time ailment and it truly is for me.

4. - Do I do anything to celebrate the change of seasons ? - Spring is my celebratory time. At the onset of Spring warmth I celebrate life by going outdoors as much as I can, enjoying the green things springing from the warming earth and the buds on; bushes and trees soon to go into leaf. My happiness has Forsythia as a golden cloak. Glorying in wearing short sleeves and no jacket.

5. - My favorite things to do outside ? At my age and physical ability my fun is walking in the park wth Heather, sitting to rest on a park bench with her, near enough to the playground that I can see and hear the kids joyous voices. talking with her. People watching, persons walking their pets, kids going by on bicycles, couples slowly walking, heads close together quietly talking. I do picnics too and enjoy them greatly - I have the advantage now, I am a Picnic-er Emeritus and the young ones do all the work. I enjoy sitting out on our ground floor so called patio (good name for a slab) outside of our apartment, sitting, sipping iced tea and doing surveillance on the ducks, geese and passing people. Occasionally stepping out and doing a turn or two around our quad. I enjoy Heather and I taking rides, visiting and seeing the sights and scenery. The last outdoor pleasurable viewing for me is when we go up into the mountains to see and photograph Nature's cloth of gold worn by the Aspen trees, luminescent when the sun is behind them. Of course snow and cold end that show.

*** *********************************

So much for the exercise and fun, now to ponder and mull over the great memories of some of those times stirred up, by doing 'tis the day for Friday Five . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008