Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 24, 2002 - 23:47 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Keep Away

Riiiiight! Looks like Diaryland has been playing Keep Away also. Seems that things like this happen when I get a late start anyhow. So here it is, my diary will be dated the 24th but will probably be finished early AM the 25th.

Keep Away, I won't even honor it by calling it a game. Moreso I will call it civilized torture. No blood, no broken bones, no bruises just maximum frustration. First time I ever encountered it was a couple of older boys snatched my cap and did the Keep Away bit until I burst into tears worrying about what Mom and Dad would say when I told them the big boys took it away from me. Times were hard and cap money came just as hard.

Finally they walked off, I watched them go off toward their homes. After while I followed their path and found my cap where they had tossed it into the bushes.

I was involved in a few more times with that devilish activity, as a victim, never as one of the pair. I have always despised cruel teasing, the big over the little or really any form of teasing carried too far.

I never thought that Keep Away would filter into my life, but it did. Took a long time to see it. The carrot and the stick, corporate Keep Away, where one keeps jumping for the cap that the biggies keep throwing over one's head. Changing the rules giving more penalties for minor infractions.

Social Keep Away where one is belittled and not allowed to be one of a group who have similar interests but feel that they can snoot some one out. Or where false encouragement is given to a person, only to cast them to the winds when they have gained the goal -- they thought.

People are by nature striving for the golden cap which flies over their heads. But unfair actions to cause the frustration level to rise to the danger level is not teasing, it is cruel.

Sometimes I think that we do it to ourselves. Thrust ourselves into a situation that invites unmerciful teasing.

I want to climb that mountain, but damn anyone who keeps moving it away from me.

I will not play Masochist to the dang Sadists - I don't even remotely do Keep Away . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008