Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 30, 2002 - 21:11 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

For Thee

It seems to me that when a truly great person dies they are not only mourned in their country, but the world over. The Queen Mother of England is no more with us. And she is deeply mourned.

Somehow the last few days death has been hovering in the background of my mind. Probably because of the terrible events concering the Palestinians and Israelis. On March 29th John Bailey, The Old Grey Poet wrote the thought that our young do not know how to mourn. In part he said, "When someone you love dies you should be able to rise your head and howl at the heavens." I don't think either of us thought of the near demise of the Queen Mother. I replied to him, "When I howl over someone's death, privately as it may be, it is because of the utter loneliness due to loss of the company, love and shared life we had."

I think in a way the Queen Mother was company to the people of Britain, loved the people, and shared life with her people. I think she will be deeply mourned by all.

My idea always has been that we are dying from the very moment of our conception with no guarantee of the quality or length of life we shall have.

The Queen Mother lived with dignity and with love for her people to a very old age, well deserved I think, and many of the worlds people are howling now - bereft.

John Donne has words and often I think of some of the words he so beautifully and so very pertinent to all life wrote. He said in part "No man is an island entire of itself, every man is a piece of the continent," - - - "the death of any man diminishes me," We as the world are diminished of a grand lady, a great Queen.

A little further on John Donne makes this point so very, very well, "never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls For Thee . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008