Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 01, 2002 - 23:20 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Ready For This ?

My eighty first birthday nearing me leads me to wonder, what makes me so lucky ? After the kind of life I have led, being planted long ago would have been normal. Yet here I am loving every minute of my life, my family, my wife and my friends, cyber or otherwise.

I pause and give thanks, voicing silently the prayer that I will pass one more year in possession of my faculties and ability to move around without help and taking pleasure in the many family occasions through the year. There are now birthdays in our family every month of the year. A reason to rejoice, it is.

I note that diaries and journals also tend to pass on, and I hold silent wake to myself for those who for one reason or another who are no longer with us as entry writing folk, sharing themselves with us. But, then thinking a bit longer, if there comes a time I have nothing to say in my soliloquy to myself my diary will be buried after saying farewell to my friends on the net.

But maybe I will be sitting at the keyboard when the time comes and Heather will give the word to the people I know to pass the word on the net that I said farewell. I read today Jade's tribute from her husband posted by him in her journal, it is still there. Made me thoughtful it did.

I do look forward to a lot more time to live with fun, love and enjoyment and making my eighty second milestone recede behind me. Will I do it ? Who knows ? It is the living every minute of it with happiness that counts to me.

But someday I will hear the words, "Are you Ready For This ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008