Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 08, 2002 - 18:24 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

The Right Won

Tonight is the night for overjoyed celebration here in our place. There is fondly remembered history in this whole picture to me.

When my youngest daughter was in Junior High School she needed a book or two for school. One of her classmate's Mom recommended a little bookstore off First Avenue, Second Avenue I think it was in a small two story building. I went with daughter as the money bearer, we walked in and she disappeared leaving me to look around. She knew her Dad well, still does in fact. Finding a book I wished to look at I spotted a nice comfortable easy chair in a well lit spot and proceeded to sit down and read a bit. No interruptions by sales people, just reading in a quite corner. I decided to buy the book I was looking at but didn't have enough cash to pay for her books and mine too. I asked the clerk if they would take a check and received a polite answer in the affirmative. I wrote the check and proceeded to begin to dig out my driver's license when the lady told me that I didn't need to show proof of who I was. I was so impressed that I would go by fairly often to look around and perhaps buy a book.

Work prevailed, keeping me too busy to shop there for quite awhile. Then I saw an article in our newspaper that Joyce Meskis was moving her store into an empty department store building right on First Avenue -- Cherry Creek North, a prime location. Oh, what a neat place that has been turned into. For a few years we would go there to shop for one book or another, planning to spend some leisure time there -- almost like being in a library, but with much more comfortable chairs.

Shortly after I retired I worked gift wrap at the Tattered Cover during Christmas season. Before we new hires even started work we had a short seminar given by Joyce Meskis the owner of The Tattered Cover. Most importantly the subject of diplomacy came up and a great deal of time was spent cautioning us against initiating any conversation one way or another about the purchases of the customer we were waiting on. Their purchases were their business and we were supposed to take care of the customer with out blather of any kind.

I liked being on the other side of the counter just about as well as being a customer. What a marvelously varied staff of people were there who were intent on pleasantly getting along with anybody they faced.

To me and many others I think it has been a place of integrity, honesty and trust and still is.

In April 2000 police attempted to serve a search warrant for the records of a Tattered Cover customer who was suspected of illegally manufacturing methamphetamine. The warrent sought a list of the customer's book purchases over a 30 day period as well as information bout the contents of an empty Tattered Cover envelope that was found in the trash outside the supsect's home.

To be brief, today the Colorado Supreme Court rendered its 51 page decision in favor of The Tattered Cover. In a decision by all six of the participating justices, the Supreme Court ruled that the search warrant issued to The Tattered Cover violated both the First Amendment and the Colorado Constitution's guarantee of free expression. "Had it not been for The Tattered Cover's steadfast stance, the zealousness of the City would have led to the disclosure of information that we ultimately conclude is constitutionally protected," the Court declared.

Although this is a decision by the Colorado Supreme Court, I feel it will have an impact in other states as well. Joyce Meskis and her Tattered Cover have not been Big Brothered this time and I pray that she is never hassled again.

Under her leadership her store initiated many new things to customers. If I remember correctly her philosophy is, "Anybody can sell books, so mostly what is sold at an individual store is happy, pleasant courtesy and service. A local check for the purchase is automatically accepted, the courtesy and helpfulness of all members of the staff is outstanding and her few comfortable chairs at her original store have expanded to many, many cosy spots to sit and read a bit.The store has a website, 1-800 phone numbers, and now even a coffee bar with tables and chairs on the first floor.

So, just this once now, The Right Won . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008