Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 11, 2002 - 21:26 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

The Whole Day

It started early this morning, got up to make a pit stop around six, waved to Heather on my way back to bed and sacked in for another two hours.

Fought my way out of the feathers of sleep to see a birthday card on my table and the virgin Rocky Mountain News on my chair -- untouched by wifely hands. A first in its own right, Heather usually reads it before I get up, then later I spend a few minutes putting the sections and pages back in the order they were before I have at it.

Heather offered me banana waffles for breakfast, which I politely put off for later in the day. I knew she was taking me out to lunch and wanted to save my abdominal capacity for my favorite meal at my favorite place. I happily spent the morning reading the paper and answering e-mail. Now and then exchanging words with Milady Heather.

Gussied up a bit and went out into the invigorating spring sunshine, riding out to eat and enjoyed observing the springtime view of apparent green mist that the trees and bushes give when leaves first come out a bit. We spent our lunch time eating and trading childhood memories. I love to eat at this place, it is a Mexican food place and I had my favorite dish, a huge beef and bean burrito smothered with the neatest sauce ever. A meal in itself. So we had time to talk, and remember.

We did many of the routine things today, but somehow we made them special birthday things. Stopped by our post office box and among the mail was a great postcard from Voz. Picked up prescriptions for the both of us, Heather checked at Membership Service with some questions she had and after that we went upstairs and picked up her new glasses.

I was snookered and I knew it, but cheerfully lived with it. Heather had spent a great part of the day spoiling me and it was time to pay my dues. She said something like this, "I wonder if you would go with me to Walmart to look at fans, the one we have is just about worn out and you know how hot it gets in the apartment before they turn the air conditioners Memorial Day." Oh yes, I know . . . . . I sweat in the winter in the apartment with our heat turned off and sweat in the summer before the air conditioning is turned on. Even with it turned on we pay more for our utilities in the summer than the winter.

That was the set up, it required me to push my lazy behind up and down the aisles until we found the fans, Heather said words to the effect, "I am taking this lightweight fan for me, what are you going to pick out for yourself ?" Gee Whiz, my birthday rolled on. Not one fan, but two. Then Heather said, "Why don't you go to Mac Donald's and coffee up and get a snack, while I do a teenie bit more shopping ?"

Walmart there has a Mac Donald's snack bar in the far corner of the building, on the way there I found some bag candy (hard) that I wanted, so bought it and went for coffee. After sippin two large cups of coffee and getting ready to go for a third, Heather fell in to the snack bar, slipped down on a seat and panted a bit. No words had to be spoken, I went over and got her a coke and our pleasant conversation continued from where we left off.

That was our last stop of the day, we took our loot out to the car, loaded it and headed home. Miles to go in bumper to bumper rush hour traffic, remarkably it didn't seem to bother us, windows closed and fan on we contined our lovely talk. What a day it has been, enjoyed to the greatest extent. Together, in deep, happy conversation with each other. Ticked me off though, the center island in the car prevented me from snuggling a bit but yet, I did get an arm around her shoulders. Got a grin and a wink from her at the stoplights.

When we got to our apartment we unloaded the buggy and Phewed ! into comfortable chairs for a little R&R. I had a little fun teasing Heather about sucking me into a shopping expedition and told her the only reason I let her do it was because it is my birthday -- got a double take on that too.

Later on while trying to catch up on e-mail Heather brought me this huge plate of banana waffles -- a la mode no less. I did take an hour break and called my male cousin who is the same age as I am and we chewed the fat about our memories of troubles we used to get into. Exciting huh ? Boring stuff to write about and for anyone to read about. To get the full impact of all the fun youda hadta been there The Whole Day . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008