Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 12, 2002 - 19:07 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Passing Scene

Hopeful. It might just come to pass here in Colorado. HB 1404 has been moved to the full house for debate. The plan would change the rules law enforcement and prosecutors follow when they take property during criminal investigations. It seems law enforcement would not be able to keep property they seize unless they first get a criminal conviction.

It has about as much chance as a tempered snowball in hell of becoming law here I think. From the get go panicked arguments and protests from prosecutors and law enforcement people are vociferous. Their argument ? "The changes would essentially eliminate a tool they use to stop drug dealers and other criminals." I do hope it passes as it looks to me that society and the powers that be are trying to trample the "innocent until proven guilty" approach to Justice by encroaching on rights by law enforcement and prosecutors. Sure hold the property under bond, but release it immediately upon acquittal of the accused.

Lurking in the back of my mind it seems to me that if a car or vehicle was used to further a drug deal it is immediately forefited to the federal government, even if the owner is not guilty of any crime and had no knowledge that a crime was committed. Could I be right ? Joe next door borrows my car to go the the grocery store and gets caught in a drug deal while in my car -- I am going to lose my car for that ?

Killed in this session is the birth certificate thing. A kid is now once again entitled to have a birth certificate showing both parents. Seems obvious to me that legally and in many other matters a child without a birth certificate showing both parents is a zero. I am probably as narrow minded as the next person, but it seems to me that the purists who are insisting that a birth certificate show a male and a female parent don't take into consideration that we are after all human, sheesh what next ? must be of the same race too ? So, let them get a church birth certificate, just like a church marriage certificate.

The whole thing is a mixed up mess to my mind. If Mary had tried to get a birth certificate for Jesus, what luck would she have had ? Usually the mother is known, knowledge of the father can be lost in the mists of deception. What about the babies that are given up for adoption at birth - - - if they are given a birth certificate showing the adoptive parents as mother and father --- would that be illegal in church people's eyes ? ? ? ? I know for a fact of several men who are shown as the father of a child but are not, yet loved the woman enough to give their name to a baby. Are some of those rabid people dealing with reality or cloud castle wishes that paint every thing black or white ? I am willing to feel that come next year those who kill abortion doctors and such will again be backing restrictive bills introduced by wimp congressmen and as well those birth certificate purists will push to bring up the birth certificate thing again, introduced under another name by another sponsor but having the same essential wording.

And so to the Mideast. Aaaaaargh. Seems like the Israeli government is on a creaky teeter totter, no matter which way Sharon jumps some part of the government will split off because of his decisions. Guess that is why Sharon is playing his silly game of pull out here and concentrate there, trying to please the US and the hardliners in his government simultaneously. It will work probably as well as the woman who told her husband that she was just a little bit pregnant. I truly fear what this fight will cause to happen to the world.

A little good here, a little bad there, good, bad -- that is the present Passing Scene . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008