Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-04-03 - 18:24:45

April 3, 2000, the day after yesterday and the day before tomorrow, I think.

I read a lot of the journals and realize that as a retired old poop there is not nearly as much for me to talk about as there is for the young people. No job, a beloved wife since 1943, kids all raised and theirs mostly raised. No house to fall down around my ears - - - - nothing to sleep in but bed, nothing to eat but good food, nowhere to live but a nice apartment and nothing to drive but a functional car. Jeez - --- - - - - I am in a hell of a fix, disadvantaged for sure.

I could rave on about how the world is going to hell in a handbasket, but the newspaper columnists and professional people can do that much better than I and back it up with figures already. I can engage in endless arguments with various chip on the shoulder people on the net - - - but why ? ? ? ?

I can and do converse by e-mail with interesting people, even those in foreign lands and different walks of life and degree of education. Yunno what ? ? ? I am having the time of my life meeting so many new and interesting people and ones who have a good sense of humor and are not afraid of using it. Ones who like to poke fun at the "Establishment" types and get tickled when they get a rise or puncture an inflated ego.

I guess it goes way back to the comic strips which were my fare from the time I could read and the comical twist that was put on everyday situations and common people. "Mutt and Jeff," "Andy Gump," "Moon Mullins," "Bringing Up Father," Gasoline Alley," "Out Our Way," "Harold Teen," "Fritzi Ritz" - - - wasn't that where Nancy and Sluggo got their start ? "Major Hoople." Each shining on a different facet of human character and vagaries of same. Each close enough to the real life situations we all face to be genuine to us, but even so laughable. Present day comics are of different characters but with the same keen knowledge of human nature that allows a cartoonist to portray ourselves as the comic characters we really are.

I guess you would say that my personality derived from the depression hoboes, the beat generation, the hippies and most any of the people who independently think about things and don't balk at giving the one finger salute to those who they think deserve it.

My life is for love, laughter, friendship, fellowship, cooperation and other enjoyable things. I can't see being bitter, paranoid, and negative about everything - - - - - damn - - - - let's have fun, real joyful, elastic, belly laughing FUN. Its a bunch better than the depressing alternative. Part friends and sleep well, good body, and look forward to another sunny day.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008