Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 28, 2002 - 18:54 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Well Spent

Today was a fine day, pale green leaves wobbling a bit in a light breeze and the tulips singing their song of color and burgeoning life. Heather and I felt well, even though we had risen a bit earlier than we like to do.

What could I call it, a keynote day ? Guess that doesn't quite fit, however it has been a day of great joy, happiness and a milestone for sure. A gathering of family and in-laws -- depending on the point of view of the person saying in-law. It also was one more occasion when great grandfathers, grandfathers from both sides, the father and the two latest additions to he and our grand daughter's family met together. Many informal photos taken of course.

Our great grandson David who was in ICU here in Denver not too long ago was here again this weekend along with his Mom and Dad and older brother. The gathering today was on account of David. In a very simple Sunday service in a Quaker church where grand daughter and her husband were raised, David was dedicated. It surprised me as they did it at the very first part of the service. I admired the silent period later in the service which lasted for quite awhile.

I can't imagine any grandfather in a similar situation lacking a swelling of the heart, to see a wee child of their child's child in the arms of his parents, smiling and laughing as the pastor said the words. I guess you might say that was the main event, highlight or whatever, of the day. But there was more.

A few blocks from the church at our son's house an informal dinner of special tasty foods was served. Folks taking turns holding and making funny noises at the two little ones as everyone ate and visited.

It was not a quickie kind of thing, there was a period of visiting before dinner, during dinner and an extended period after dinner. It was not the usual type of thing like a birthday, visit, eat, blow out the candles, open presents and leave shortly thereafter but an old fashioned gabfest for everyone.

It always has been surprising to me that both sides of the family get along so well together and are truly friendly toward each other. No prima donnas or basso profundos, no person sitting in a corner glaring at someone else, nobody in a pout. Just a super event, turning on one little child's dedication.

I was happy to be there today -- usually I don't do well in a church building. My faith is strong in the Lord but not in the actions of many of the members of congregations I have been around. All I can say is, "Today was so different that I felt the Spirit move me."

As it approached time for folks to leave in order to have their evening meal, by twos people took leave with joyful good byes. For Heather and I it was a day Well Spent . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008