Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May 01, 2002 - 21:31 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Decisions

Need four extra hours a day and eight days to a week right now.

Family from the Semester At Sea landed Seattle 8 AM PDT today. After going by home in Eugene they will drive to Denver, we expect them by the seventh. So getting ready for them is priority more or less, barring emergencies which are like isht, they happen. Making room for two more adults and two kids ain't easy in our apartment. A lot of squishing and compacting is taking place.

Heather's brother in hospital has had most of the tests which seem to be okay. I think the case worker at the hospital is leading him to consider his options. There appears to only be two, a live in companion who does the work at his house, or sell the house and go into an assisted living facililty. Some of them here do provide for care when a resident requires nursing care. Heather has put in a huge amount of time running back and forth and I have ridden shotgun as well, a good part of the time. Hopefully he will decide on what is best for him. It looks to me that he is facing up to the actualities now.

No big emergencies here with Heather and I, just the normal routine of doctors visits, prescription pickups and other things we do to exist in this day and age.

We had our carpet shampooed yesterday and found that moving everything but the buffet and china closet was harder to do than the last time.

Such is the odometer of old age,

Wheels squeaking,

Tires worn thin

With no way of peaking,

we must take it on the chin.

As do others in our spot,

Though it be thin,

We love what is left, the lot.

Right now life is keeping me from the pleasure and happiness of the net and my friends the journalers. I am quite hard of hearing and speaking with my fingers and hearing what I read has been a life saver for me. I love to read but crave personal interaction that cannot be obtained from a book. I have been lucky enough to meet on the web, (when the spider isn't coming) many people who think in the same manner as I do, but who are different enough that there is matter for friendly debate now and then. I miss it when I can't take the time I desire.

Similar to my brother-in-law's case though, we each have to make our Decisions . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008