Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 05, 2002 - 19:47 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Hot And Smoky

Warm weather has hit here a bit sooner than is wanted. Drought is with us too soon and Denver apparently will be beseiged from the West all summer. The fires have already begun here and the smoke blows in from the West to make an unpleasant sight and smell. One recent fire was thought to be caused by school kids smoking and doing something careless.

But it is not just smokers, a lightning strike in the woods will start a zinger of a fire, immediately. Saw a TV shot from a helicopter of flame shooting up at least 150 feet from the tree on fire. It is unimaginable how fierce the fire is and how fast it moves and the huge areas it burns. So I dread this dry season in 2002.

Our daughter, her husband and their two kids arrived here about 3:00 PM this afternoon, tired, hungry and having sailed from Japan up by the Aleutian Islands to Seattle -- overheated. Joyous family thing, everybody talking at once and having fun. We are so glad that the Semester At Sea was enjoyed by them, in good health. The two young ones were tutored on board, so didn't miss school a bit. They are all in the front room now watching the NBC 75 year celebration. Geez 2002 minus 75 equals 1937 I was at the elevated age of 16 then. Seems like a week ago in many ways and centuries ago in others. I will end this and go out to the living room with the family and watch the rest of it. Just before I came in here I saw Jimmy Durante and Bob Hope in the "Nose bit," where Durante in part said, "When it comes to noses, you're the retailer and I'm the wholesaler." The Schnozzola, a marvelous man. I think Bob Hope spent more time overseas during World War Two than many service men did.

Time has a habit of dealing some good along with unpleasantness too. With the whole West vulnerable to the slightest spark it has a chance to be a horrid summer, Hot And Smoky . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008