Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 14, 2002 - 20:53 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Tote That Bale

Am I just plain stupid in feeling that our personal monetary resources are being squandered to win votes to make everything lily-white Republican again ? Or is there an element of truth there ?

Seems to me like the sprouting shrub signed oh so early on Monday morning a farm bill subsidizing growers in Midwestern and Southern states. A $190 billion dollar deficit (our money down the tubes) to go to the Agri-businesses so that they can overproduce cheap stuff infuriating foreign growers and cause tactics by them to combat that situation.

Right after the signing ceremony the Pres. announced a new arms deal with Russia. Bada-bing ! Right hand not letting the left hand know what is going on. The wheel turns and where it stops nobody knows. But I think that when the wheel stops we will have discovered once again, big businesses will have profited heavily at the expense of peons like you and me.

Quite a long while ago I read that the independent, family farmer has almost disappeared from the American scene. So a few Midwestern independent farmers will get a few bucks, but the overwhelming amount of money will go into the pockets of the big agri-businesses. Looks to me that percentage wise the little farmer might be enabled to hang on 'til the next payment on something comes due and then puts him out on the road, while the agri-businesses will slurp up the majority of the dough.

Looks to me that once again 'those who have' will fatten while Joe voter gets a very few crumbs.

Once again it looks like down on the delta a voting peon will once again Tote That Bale . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008