Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 17, 2002 - 20:10 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Rendezvous For Three

I think it was the fur trappers of the old days who met once a year after they sold their pelts and had a rendezvous and partied to the fullest. Seems like this yearly meeting we had today will continue at about this same time every year.

I can't remember for sure, but I think the e-mailing between Jeannie and I began when we began to e-mail each other making comments about what turned up in regard to comments made on the 'Old Grey Poets' website, a group thing. However it was, we became friends as 'think alikes' often do. Jeannie (daisyok) comes to visit her daughter about this time every year and last year Heather and I had a bite and some talk with the good lady at the Tattered Cover Bookstore. All too short it was, and great -- Heather and Jeannie struck it off quite well together.

So, this year Jeannie and I with Heather's input decided to have lunch and a visit while she is here. She is only here a short time and then goes to points west and then where the spirit leads until finally she returns home for another year. This time I felt like this occasion was a family reunion more or less.

What is the mystique ? Maybe it is making cyber friends and meeting later to find out they are nicer than you thought could be possible. I found this to be true when I was a 'ham' radio operator, occasionally meeting someone who I had been communicating with and finding they lived up to the picture I had formed of them in my mind. Something like that is not infallible though. Someone who you thought you were in communication with is unable to ever meet you face to face. Sometimes there is deception involved. Kaycee is one of the cases in point.

However it works out, we have a friend, a real person, one who acts like they talk and one who communicates with us frequently. Heather will occasionally dash off a note for me to send Jeannie and sometimes Jeannie will do a note to Heather. But we stay in touch and look forward to next year's Rendezvous For Three . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008