Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 20, 2002 - 22:55 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Raised Eyebrow

Life's lessons continue for me yet. Why do I think things will get better ? To be perfectly frank, I guess because that is my prayerful hope. Geez, I sure hope there isn't a pop quiz on this.

Saw a cartoon recently that highlighted to me the sickness that exists here. Six panels, picture of a man from chest up, in each panel he has a grin on his face and is saying.

Panel 1. "When my company makes money . . . . I make money."

2. "When my company loses money . . . . I make money."

3. "When my company's stockholders lose money . . . . I make money."

4. "When my company's employees lose their 401-k's . . . . I make money."

5. "And when my company finally goes bankrupt . . . . I make money."

6. "I'm the CEO," (Crooked at Every Opportunity).

Sometimes humor and reality are too close together to suit me.

Reminds me a bit of my early cuts, scrapes and bruises. Learned early on not to touch a hot stove - by experience. Learned not to fall on the sidewalk and scrape my knees - by experience. Learned not to fool with a sharp knife - by experience. Also, after many tries I learned to keep my fingers away from a car door whiich could be slammed on them. Hard headed little fool, thought I was quick enough each time and sometimes was just careless -- but mashed fingers were on the menu.

But nowadays it seems as if our noses are being dubbed in the rung, over and over. Each time we peons choose to ignore things or misinterpret them or try to see some remote form of justification in them slowly we realize that we have been had again.

Which of us, the peons of this country has the vaguest idea of what is really going on in any of our legislative branches ? The way ballots are worded for us now it is a puzzle of yea or nay. Wording is so deliberately muddled that a persons vote for something on the ballot really counts as a vote against. One thing that bothers me about many things are the hyped stories given by each side, outright lies when new history overturns the rock and gives us a glimmering of the real truth.

This -- a cynical rant on the general situation today. Leaves me with a Raised Eyebrow . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008