Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 25, 2002 - 23:00 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

That Is The Question.

Ellen Goodman (Boston Globe) in the Rocky Mountain News for Saturday, May 25 wrote a column titled, 'Tough' politicians take aim at poor mothers, children."

The politically correct direction of treatment of moms who have children and are disgracefully out of work is to force the gals to work -- whether they can afford child care, transportation, food, rent and clothing. What little training provided will maybe fit them to a job at the lowest wage scale -- if they even can find a job there.

I cannot see that any provision has been made for enabling a mother to go out and work, yet take care of her kids.

I was a latch key kid, both of my parents had to work. That is a miserable way to live, she worrying about me at home, me in the depths of loneliness. We were both fortunate, I managed to grow up and raise a family justifying her faith in me. Could easily been a different course run. It was no real life for a child -- or a mother either if there is any love between them.

I think Ellen Goodman is more than fair in her column and I also think she places the blame on the proper people. Her last paragraph after a wonderful discourse is as follows: "Now the 'tough' politicans think we can move women into the workplace without answering the question -- who will take care of the children ? This is, at heart, a profound dismissal of motherhood. And, of course childhood."

Almost like something from Shakespeare. To work, or not to work ? - That Is The Question

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008