Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-04-06 - 11:49:02

April 6, 2000

SUFFERING

The realization of the horrible things that happened at Columbine High School on the suburbs of my beloved home town is not my object alone right now, but the way it is being belabored.

Maybe people from other parts of the country don't get the input so constantly that we do in Denver.

For longer than I really care to think about, it has been constant Ramsey, Columbine, Ramsey, Columbine.

No one has been caught on the Ramsey murder and yet everyday speculation strews more stress on everyone.

No one has come up with a definitive answer on the Columbine event. Everyone has the right to vent and have counselling, but I don't think it should be should be dragged out in public like this. Now we have the "gun" people, Pro and con - - - the Prayer as a school exercise, pro and con. Who knows, maybe the "Right to Life" people and the Gays, pro and con will all join in and . . . . . what ?

So, should a second spring be spoiled for us all ? My wife's oldest brother went over a bridge and drowned - - - - on Mother's Day, many years ago . . . . . .Mother's Day was never the same for her after that, but she faced up to the need for the day to day things and sowed her love on her grandchildren.

I am almost sure someone will take offense over this and I apologize - - - - - but I suggest that those offended trade e-mails with Bonnie of the Rabble - - - she I believe could tell you war stories of child abuse that is ongoing. A prayer, and then, one foot in front of another, onward.

My hope is that none of my children die before I go. Selfish ? Maybe. But isn't that what fathers are for ? To strive mightily for the survival of progeny. Columbine hurts, Ramsey hurts, I think it really doesn't accomplish much to twist the red hot blade in our flesh day after day. That is how I feel, and that is my opinion alone. If any one is offended I offer my apologies and accept the fact that they have a right to look at it otherwise, and hope they grant me the right to express myself.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008