Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 28, 2002 - 22:57 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

A Day's Worth

There has been a succession of days lately that all I can do is to relate the events of the day. No time really to think, read newspapers or pursue good thoughts. It will soon end though. Daughter and her family will soon head back to their home in Eugene, Oregon. A plenitude of birthdays has passed and Father's Day is about all of the family festivities coming soon.

Heather and I have had the pleasure to be able to visit with Jeannie ([email protected]) from Florida who is visiting relatives here in Denver. This year the three of us were able to meet twice, once to go eat, and for the life of me I can't remember just where or what we ate, what I do remember is the blast we had having face to face communication - the three of us, Jeannie, Heather and I. The second time was this afternoon, we made a leisurely trip through the hills and up to Buffalo Bill's Grave atop Lookout Mountain - which is just above Golden and has a fantastic view of Denver.

The ladies surveyed the wares of the gift shop and I found a case having CD's and Cassettes with a panel showing all the titles. By pressing the panel above the album shown a short part of that album would play. I remember that the Big Band CD gave a part of "In The Mood," popular when once Heather and I were young and going together. That was about the time that, "Tonight We Love," became our song. 1943. They had music even that far back you know. After while we wandered into the snack area and sat at a table by a window which had a great view of the eastern area. My, what talk went on as we each tried to cope with gigantic double scoop ice cream cones. Memories flew like larks looping in the air. We are much older than Jeanie, yet are close enough together to have common grounds of memories.

What a pleasure it has been to see and visit with Jeannie again. Heather and Jeannie went somewhere one day, I was down with a heavy sinus infection and was taking prescribed medicine and sleeping most of the time so they spent some girly time. Heather said they had a great time then too.

Already plans are being made for fun things to do when Jeannie makes her trip to Denver next year. There are many interests we have in common that we all will enjoy, it is a matter of talking them over, flipping a coin and going for it.

Heather and I went to her brother's house this morning to visit and saw that he is much better now that his medication has been adjusted. We took him to the Russell Stover outlet in the suburbs here. Periodically we take him out there where he stocks up on his sugarless candies. The shop is presided over by a mature lady who is a delightful and good natured person who has a neat British accent. She has become acquainted with both him and Heather over the years. Heather does her Easter, Halloween and Christmas candy shopping there. Brother-in-law and his wife had gone out there for years. Not being too busy today visiting and catch up time was happily spent there in the shop.

So no words of wisdom, or ponderations on the meaning of life tonight just a brief menu of our doings. I think we had A Day's Worth . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008