Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 06, 2002 - 22:20 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Have Changed

There is a new library here in Denver, a branch of The Denver Public Library, by name, "Schlessman Family Library," which is about five minutes from where I live (by car).

Waited a few after opening day before I ventured up there. First thing I noticed was that the parking area does not come near having enough space. It is always full during library hours, there is room to park on the street though. Heather and I watched the building go up from bare ground. We speculated as to what it would be. It was a long time before a sign showed up telling what it would be. Looked funny to me and still looks a bit odd. The angles of the building are not the precise verticals and humdrum rectangles. The building reminds me of something drawn by Escher. But it doesn't appear to be in danger of collapse.

Heather and I drive by that corner (Quebec and 1st Avenue) freqently and were glancing through the windows, we saw the bookshelves soon after they were placed and after a long wait noted that books appeared like plants sprouting. I haven't had time to explore the entire place, but the whole first floor makes me think I am in the middle of a Star Trek episode. Screens and keyboards everywhere, even some for the kids. Books galore as well as Videos, CD's, DVD's and more.

It is very beautiful and functional inside. There are plenty of places to sit not counting a chair at each keyboard. There is a coffee bar there where some yummy concoctions are built. Pricey, like most coffee bars, but the people who staff it are super folk, smiling and helpful. Of course there are restrooms and drinking fountains. It has a counter for check out -- check in. Across the room there is a counter with keyboards and places for three people to wait on folk with questions or who want to order in a book not on the premises. I just finished, "A Boy Called It," by Dave Pelzer and am deciding what to order in next. Most of the books I ask for seem to not be there but have to be ordered in. Libraries here are on what I think is the CARL system and books can be called in from all over Colorado. Pretty neat deal. The wait time is not so bad considering that eventually I will get what I want to read. Two weeks I think was the wait time for this one.

As time goes on I will learn to research things right there on premises. There are data bases to make use of that puts the world at my fingertips, it seems possible to me. It is obvious to me that I need to spend much time there.

Functioning of the organization seems to be computerized. When I check out a book, my library card is scanned along with the bar code on the book and a slip of paper is printed and given to me with the book. It shows all data needed including the return date. There is no more rubber stamping of anything as near as I can see. Even an over due book will cause a postcard reminder to be sent to the person who has that book out.

I love that place, so new, so state of the art, so close.

My eyes showed me how, over the years things Have Changed . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008