Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 11, 2002 - 19:14 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Fire On The Hill

After listening to TV news about the fires in Colorado, and also knowing there are fires in the dry parts of the US as well, my mood has been somber today. The thought occurred to me just how much it would hurt John Denver to witness such a disaster. This evening I checked Stephanie and saw her quote of part of a John Denver song she said was for Annie. I heard the music and his voice in my mind singing these words.

You fill up my senses,

like a light in a forest.

Like the mountains in springtime,

like a walk in the rain.

Like a storm in a desert,

like a sleepy blue ocean.

You fill up my senses, come fill me again.

Most of us all know he loved Denver and the mountains and a good part of us loved his songs and his singing. He would have wept as he viewed the holocaust of our burning mountains. The Hayman Fire is getting closer to the suburbs at the southern part of Denver Metro Area now and the latest I saw on TV this evening the report on containment is "Zero." As well as fighting the fire the authorities are doing their best to keep up on the course of the fire, get people to evacuate before they get burned. They have been urging people in some of the areas that are threatened to voluntarily evacuate, taking their valuables and photo ID's with them and so they can be allowed back in when the danger is past. Voluntary evacuation helps keep the roads open for when evacuation is ordered. The raging fire is so intense and so widespread that about all anyone can do is to get out of the way of it.

I know that I am an old grouch, but I do realize that as bad as some things and some politicians are here, we live in the best country in the world. I know that and always have and always will. But when I see politicians trying to do things which will leave us peons vulnerable to having our civil rights taken away, I speak and voice my opinion.

My brother-in-law's sheltered, shady spot at the back of his house has the garage roof next door as a stage for the neighborhood pigeons. It is fun to watch the action between them. There is the Alpha Male type who throws his weight around and selectively runs some pigeons off the roof. And the males typically are trying to woo a feathered lady -- any feathered lady. Looks like they puff up their chests a bit and tramp in circles in the sight of the lady they pick out at the moment. The males will then follow their prospect around and repeat the act a time or two. Like guppies, a male will immediately try one of the nearest "hens" when left in the lurch. Then for no apparent reason that I can see, hear or sense, the dozen or so pigeons on the roof will simultaneously take wing and disappear for a while. A kind of silent comic opera accompanied with occasional wing flapping.

Bonnie of The Chattering came up with a diet she said she got from Pede. "The pasta diet"

You go, pasta bakery, pasta candy store, pasta ice cream -- without stopping.

Might help, can't hurt to go on past the tempting tidbits.

Comics in the paper sometimes give me a lift. This morning's Family Circle shows Jeffy (?) telling the other little kid, "Grandma and grandpa sure live in the past lane." Would that be slanted at me ?

Again this year Father's day looms. I am sure our kids in town will be by for coffee, cake and ice cream. Daughter and family celebrated it with me before they left for home. Our oldest son and his wife are on a trip to Europe for a month, we nailed him a little before his birthday before they left. Not too many in town this year but more than anything else I wish is for those kids of ours who are able, to come see us on Mother's Day and Father's Day -- don't even need to bring me a card, just themselves and their mates.

Yet tonight I am saddened by Fire On The Hill . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008